Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pong Breaker

by alliel_a - Jam Entry

Pong Breaker is a compilation of the famous Pong and BrickBreaker games.

In Pong breaker you should try to break the wall without losing the ball.

Several difficulties are availables and a Survival Mode where the objectif is to have the biggest score.

SDL lib is needed to run the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#665Fun(Jam)2.97
#805Innovation(Jam)2.69
#810Theme(Jam)3.29
#864Overall(Jam)2.91

Comments

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

Enjoyed this one ;)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:22am

Why Linux only lol looks fun though wish I could play it

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:55am

Wish I could play this, but as it's linux I'm afraid I can't get this rocking on my system, sorry dude. Any chance for a Windows export?

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Salut les Tek.
Vous devriez tenter de porter votre jeu sous Windows vite, avant que la période de vote ne se termine. Il y a peu de gens sous Linux.

Utilisez CodeBlock ou Cygwin (Ca marche bien avec SDL) pour ça, vous devriez y arriver rapidement.

Sinon, vous savez déjà ce que je pense de votre jeu. ;)

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Simple idea better than big shit fallout4 by example. Sadly only for linux. Well done!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:01am

at least need windows...

Finn Stokes says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:17am

When I try to run it on 64 bit Arch Linux, I get a segmentation fault. SDL: 1.2.15, SDL2: 2.0.3

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Why 64 bit only? Why no source?

zulman says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:15pm

unfortunately can't play this, got no Linux

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Backtrace for segmentation fault:

#0 0x00007ffff771bfca in TTF_SizeUNICODE ()
from /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libSDL_ttf-2.0.so.0
#1 0x00007ffff771c3e4 in TTF_RenderUNICODE_Solid ()
from /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libSDL_ttf-2.0.so.0
#2 0x00007ffff771c80a in TTF_RenderText_Solid ()
from /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libSDL_ttf-2.0.so.0
#3 0x00000000004012d4 in main () at pong.c:130

Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:41am

Don't have a linux box at the moment, sorry. No windows or macosx builds? :(

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:21pm

better than a triple A game

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Simple and classic!

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I managed to run this one, but it took some debugging. I’m pretty sure I’m among the only ones who did!

So, if you wish to work around the crash, you need to create a "Fonts" directory in the current directory, and put a TrueType font (any font will do) in there called "DS-DIGI.TTF". Be careful, case matters.

Apart from that, it’s a pong/breakout style game, where the ball becomes faster each time it hits the wall. I don’t know whether the wall eventually breaks and leads to another level or something, because I didn’t manage to get beyond 7 hits.

You get points from me for finishing something and for sticking to the theme, but next time, try to be here to help people who have trouble running the entry, or at least please provide the source code!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:18am

made in sdl. Reputation with me increased +1 =]
btw, the game run in a raspberry pi 2 ^^

hyperscope says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:42am

I'm curious why a windows build was not possible?

myachin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:43pm

dont have linux (((

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:19pm

This does not even run, it tries to load a missing font file.
:(

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I got a Segmentation fault..

How can I fix this to give your game a try? T.T

nucleartide says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:53am

No Linux. :(

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:05am

A port to windows would be useful but i like the idea

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Very easy and funny ;) (y)

StelarCF says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Arch Linux 64 bit as well. I get Segfault like Finn Stokes.

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:09am

Nice game, wish there was a download for windows also, but im glad i have dual boot ;)

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Relly enjoyed this one.

Jace239 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:39pm

I've been playing the games of everyone who commented on mine, but unfortunately as your game is only for Linux I can't play yours. I'm sorry :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]