Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2-Eyes-Only Bar

by Grey_Kruzhok - Jam Entry

2-Eyes-Only Bar

There are two kind of cyclops. One you can see in the lights and another one for shadows. But all of them obsessed by alcohol.
They don’t pay.
And they will destroy the bar.
Your bar.
Your tool of protection - shotgun
Your way to see one-eye bastards - turn the lights on, turn the lights off.

Black and white 2-button shooter.
Your bar. Your rules.

Thanks to
http://www.freesfx.co.uk - for sound effects
Paolo Orecchia (“SnowmanAtSeaBlues”, “InTheMood on Blues_COVER”) and CEBE (“Honey Cotton”) - for in-game music

Developed by
Kruzhinskaya Daria
Seriy Ivan
from IzHard team

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#166Humor(Jam)3.41
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#262Mood(Jam)3.54
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

Very good idea with changing colors. That way you can shoot cyclop behind two-eyed guys, but it is very difficult )

jangdan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

great, simple game! I love the light switching mechanics, very fresh.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

Really fun little game! The dialogue at the beginning is hilarious and the gameplay mechanic of switching between the two colour-schemes was really interesting. Keep up the good work - I look forward to your next submission!

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

I like the concept of switching worlds, though it would be nice if the bullets kept their realm once shot IMO. Also more than one life would be nice since the cyclops are very often between happy costumers and you have no choice but to shoot them all.

vedmich says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Cool concept. Mood and style are perfect and gameplay is quite simple yet addictive. A bit of balancing is needed though :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05pm

The colour switching is a nice touch, although sometimes I found the game sort of put me in an impossible situation. A 1-eye guy behind a 2-eye guy while you're on the other side of the screen is tough/impossible to deal with... Unless I am allowed to shoot two-eye guys... am I? I was avoiding them ;)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Interesting mechanic with the light switch. Overall the game looks really cool to me. Good job!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36pm

fun, atmoshere and very good story)
and maybe making white and black more grayish will not attack my eyes with this contrast switcher

Vladik_Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47pm

The idea is amazing and simple but my eyes started to hurt after a while. I was playing it for quite a long time untill I figured out that I can just press both buttons at the same time, which made the game quite boring afer some time.

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very funny and original :)

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Good concept. Execution could use a little work. Sometimes it was impossible to shoot someone without sacrificing another Good client.

greenscreen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:56am

I like the two color game idea. Maybe it's just a little too difficult, atleast for me.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Привет из Минска!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

So nice, its funny, i think that you nailed with the innovation, maybe adding a bit more of speed to the player could be nice (:

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Great idea of switching lights. It is difficult, though.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:24pm

No happy clients in my bar! I just killed everybody and drank the liquor myself. Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]