Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kawaiiju

by TeamKawaiiju - Jam Entry

You are Dr. Madman's newest creation, the world's most adorable monster. You are also very hungry. You will eat everything. It's time for your morning walk.

Controls:
---------
WASD - Move
Mouse - Look

Walk into things to eat them. You can only eat things up to a small amount larger than you. The larger the item you eat is, the bigger you grow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#120Humor(Jam)3.62
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#424Audio(Jam)3.18
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#626Theme(Jam)3.56

Comments

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

Wow the graphics are really polished and impressive, nice work :))

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

I liked the concept and the graphics, but the game was kind of buggy and I was having some trouble moving, especially with the slow walking speed. Still very good, maybe you could increase the number of objects? The leash idea was interesting but I'm not sure if I liked it or not :0 really nice game! =D

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

Nice presentation, wish there was more to it though.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

That was extremely cool! I think it was a great interpretation of the theme, and really well executed. There was some collision issues with the terrain that made movement a little sticky, but it was hardly an issue. I personally loved this concept.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Mouse wasn't locked to the window so I had a hard time using this (I have 2 monitors)

spiritfox90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Great job guys, there's something very therapetic about eating the entire scenery. :)

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

I gotta admit, the reason to play the game was the title. But I was surprised to see such a polished game, really well presented. Controls need some working, and with a little more variety, this can become even better.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

I absolutely loved this. It took me a second to catch onto what was going on, but as soon as I did, I was cackling with glee as I ate everything I could. I'm an old-time Katamari fan, and this definitely reminded me of that. BRAVO.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13am

I figured I would hit a game like this sooner or later, I just didn't expect the first to be so well done. The game is incredibly cute, I love the fact you start on a leash, and I really love the scale you took it to. The only issue I found was it looks like you didn't adjust the clipping distance as the monster got larger and the camera moved up. By the time I got to the size to eat the tower the Only a very small portion of the monster was still visible, and even less of the remaining level, which is a pitty as I really wanted to try and clear out the entire level.

Also for some inexplicable reason there is a soccer ball floating in the sky in the middle of the river. Couldn't figure that one out.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

Sound reminded me of Zombies ate my neighbors, and the game play reminded me of Katamari Damacy, very nice combination! Controls left a bit to be desired and there were visual bugs, but it didn't diminish that it was a fun game!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

Looks nice, good music and pretty fun. But luggy.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:38am

Great approach to the growing theme. I would love to see this game further developed, the idea is really fun, brings me back to the vibes of Katamari Damacy and fulfills my need to devour the entire world. Tons of potential for a full game, that'd I love to see.

local minimum says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Great walking game. It took me a while to at all grasp the controls though, in general they were not very precise. It would have helped to lock the mouse cursor and tom have a collider that didn't get stuck on small height differences. Simple way would be to have a capsule collider and set physics material to have no friction. I was really about to give up getting across the water due to this. When I got there, the camera got glitchy/started fog most things out because, I suppose, of the max distance it rendered. Besides these small tweaks that could easily be fixed. A very enjoying experience. It would have been really cool if you when little got pulled by Dr. Madman if you didn't follow in the circle and then progress to a stale-mate when a little bigger and both were equally strong to when really big you are out walking with Dr. Madman dingeling in the air.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Fun concept. I loved how you got unleashed. A fair bit glitchy, though, and the start is slow.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:45am

Fun at first, but the bugs that appear the bigger you get eventually made it impossible to continue as I couldn't even see anything, let alone move to it as I'd get stuck on random things on my way, wouldn't collide with others and kept moving at the same slow speed no matter how big I got.

On the other hand, the graphics were great and the animation that went with it was likewise good, and the audio set the mood nicely.

Skruffye says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Very nice game concept although the bugginess did quite severely detract from the experience.
I especially liked the animation on Dr. Madman. :3
I'm sure ironing out the bugs (getting stuck on terrain and invisible barriers) wouldn't take too long post-jam and I would definitely like to play a post-LD version of this in the future! ^^v

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]