Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow, Flower!

by emmavanderbrug - Jam Entry

Mother Nature finds a small plant struggling to survive inside an old abandoned shed. Because she can be so fierce she decides to give back to her children and help this small plant become healthy.

The aim is to collect the right nutrients using the water drop and deliver them to the plant making it healthier.

Once you have 5 water and 5 nutrients you win, if you go below 0 water you loose.

Move the water using the 'Left' and 'Right' keys.

Greetings, thank you for taking the time to check out our first Ludum Dare entry. This was a lot of fun and we look forward to seeing what you guys think.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#392Audio(Jam)3.24
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#651Graphics(Jam)3.18
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#817Fun(Jam)2.76
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

Chill game. I think I won:

http://imgur.com/rgFS3Lw

I give it 50/5 !

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57am

A bit bizarre that the numbers need to match exactly. I ended up having to poison my flower so it would bloom.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

Fun game. I can definitely see that being turned into an accelerometer-controlled mobile game.

FlatPivot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

I do this all the time in my garden :)

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09am

Took me a second to realize the water drop is dropping down by itself. Cool idea.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54am

Really nice atmosphere, I enjoyed the background, and the music (although perhaps a more chill piano theme might fit the gameplay more). I liked the visual style with the exception of the raindrop, I think the main focus of the game should probably have a bit more emphasis on it. The gameplay was nice, if a bit simple, and would benefit from a few varying levels or something to add variety into the game. Really good job for a first entry though!

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/Administrator/Desktop/LD/GrowFlower/GrowFlower_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 193).

I'm sure it's not a problem of my own computer, cuz other unity game runs well :(

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Graphics are nice, gameplay is simple but efficient. This is good entry! goob job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26am

Nice work! I love the audio.

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:15am

Some great audio and interesting mechanics. Was quite easy until I realised that I needed the exact combination to win.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]