Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tensions

by MadmenProductions - Jam Entry

Set in a dystopian alternate universe, you must do your job as the representative of the dictator as disasters happen around you.

You will get a newspaper that will hint to you, what your stats are. On the clipboard you will get a list of events that have happened the past couple of months. In the folder will be proposals that you can approve by clicking on area with the line that is directly next to the fancy x, the proposals are how you respond to the events on the clipboard. ignoring a event or approving a proposal will affect your stats. your stats will be used to create a newspaper that vaguely describes your stats.

Note:There are always multiple reports and potentially multiple responses, try clicking the shield with the eye and sword icon to change the page.

Ending the turn lets several months pass, which gives you a set of reports on what's happened, proposals on how to deal with them, and a newspaper with your new stats described. You must try to keep the country stable the best you can with the information given. before signing a paper be sure to check the newspaper and think on how it will change the news on your next turn.

If there's something you don't understand, or want to see, please leave a comment. Your feedback helps us improve the game in the finished and polished version. Thank you for your time and criticism.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#696Innovation(Jam)2.87
#812Mood(Jam)2.76
#1045Theme(Jam)2.50
#1092Overall(Jam)2.38

Comments

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

It would be better if we didn't have to install it, really. This takes a lot of the fun away, and I think many people are going to skip even trying your game because of that.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Ummm...Just don't get it....there was nothing to do but click a few things again and again...with no changing results?

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The promise is grand and maybe you were a bit ambitious on this one. This version lacks objectives and feedback but I would like to see this as a full game.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The game has great potential. The artwork is fantastic. Unfortunately it looks like there isn't much to be done as I couldn't get the game to progress past the first turn. I'd like to see this continued.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Couldn't see any response for my actions in game. Thou the concept is very nice and I'd love to see it fully
executed.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Reminds me of Papers, Please
Pretty neat starting point for a great game, but for now it's just a prototype and not sure if made for LD or just using LD to gain some feedback ;)
Anyway as i said game has a great potential and art style is really fitting. Hope to see finished game someday.

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice art! The game is quite dull though; not that i only expect platformers, but I did not see a lot feedback to my decisions. The idea is good, so keep on it!

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Art is great, but I don't really think it relates to either theme very much and needs some more instructions on how to play. I also didn't feel like my choices affected anything much, so it needs improvement there too. It's a good idea, though!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Good concept, but it feels like an early prototype. Your actions don't seem to have any real consequence, and people seem to shift from acceptance to displeasure at random. It would be great to see the idea fleshed out.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Looks alot like Papers, please. Not sure how to even to anything in the game besides read some papers. After some turns I get overthrown and then I can't do anything...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I like consistency in visual style.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10am

It's a good idea but not really fully fledged.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

It's very nice looking but not polished. I would love to see this as a complete game :)

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10am

Interesting idea, I got ousted of the office kinda quickly by the people, but it was fun :) Cool idea and great use of the theme

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12am

LOVE the art style, remind me of papers please
but yeah, the gameplay kinda dull, i'm not interested enough to play this on a long run.
but overall really good :)

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29am

I think this is a valiant effort, though it's not all there yet. Graphics and layouts look awesome. The game design however is a bit confusing and the age restriction seems a bit excessive. Very well done guys. Take pride in your effort.

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29am

Reminded me of Papers please... Could you please post a web version or a mac version!
I imagine there are a lot of people using Macs so you are kind of ignoring us :P
Please make a mac version if possible... I would really love to give this a try.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30am

The needing to install the game was definitely a bit off-putting. I feel like you had the beginning of a good idea, but there wasn't really anything to do...?

Aaranos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03am

Clear transitions before days and some level of introduction would do well for the game. I didn't have any trouble figuring out the basics and getting through the game for quite a few turns.

I think a visual indicator for remaining supplies and cost for each selection would be good. I also don't know if selecting multiple even works. Again, some level of introduction would be nice since you appear to start the game in the middle of a civil war.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Well the people are displeased with how poor am I, but I only have the same choices for circa 5 turns or more...

flakoflak says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:53am

not much to do :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]