Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tetris Jumper

by simonharmon566 - Compo Entry

You're playing Tetris, but not really. You are a thing trapped inside of a game of Tetris, so uh, don't die! This game is based off of a game I played as a kid, only that game kind of sucked, this one just barely doesn't suck! The goal of Tetris Jumper (A+ name) is to either get a high score that you are proud of, or demolish your friends in multiplayer mode!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#644Fun2.93
#648Innovation2.86
#873Overall2.68
#955Theme2.07
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09am

Neat idea. Never seen the idea of tetris used this way. I found the randomness of the blocks hard to overcome, especially if you get trapped and cannot jump out. Good overall though. Fun to play when not trapped.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Very nice idea - I can see this becoming a good mobile game. Could have done with some music to add the tetris feel. It's impossible at times.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Yeah, really interesting idea! Would be better if we could jump a bit higher though, and the way the computer put those blocks was a bit infuriating. :D but it's cool! GOod job!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Fun. Progressively gets more and more challenging, which is great.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

It took me a while to figure out what the controls were. (I tried arrow keys but that didn't work.)

The RNG sometimes puts me in impossible situations, which is a bit frustrating.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Hey, this is neat! :)

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39am

Really funny :D You should do a mobile version for this game ^^

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18am

nice idea becomes a little annoying if you get trappped and can't get out

barret907k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:29am

Very fun.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:49am

While not all that original, I found it very tense at times. :) Well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:52am

The single player's not bad, but unfortunately the multiplayer becomes who can jump on who first.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Good unique use of the Tetris idea; fun with increasing challenge but there was an element of waiting for the random gen to drop blocks close to me

knason says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:27pm

This reminds me of a game I played like hundred years ago, my mind says it was called Tetril but google didn't help me there so I might have dreamt it :-), there was like a little man walking to and fro and you had to build the blocks so he could climb upwards.
enough about that, I love tetris and this was a fun idea. It was very intense :-) good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]