Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PATRYOSHKA

by -SPiRiT- - Compo Entry

PATRYOSHKA is a space arcade-game. MY FIRST HAND-MADE VIDEO GAME :D

Arrow left and right to move
Double arrow to dodge (to the right or the left)
/!\ Make sure to click into the game window if it doesn't work! Fullscreen is advised

Follow the red arrow to find the next improvement for Patryoska!
You will get larger and LARGER.
You win at LVL6 o/

Made in 28h, because I'm too stupid to look at the day x)


Story behind the Patryoska series:
"Middle of the Cold War, 1969, the United States Of America are on the edge to make History. They have one dream: the Moon. They are just a step closer to the giant leap for humanity, but we'll not let them do that.
We have to be on the moon before them, for the sake of our Homeland RUSSIA !"

Pr.Sakamoto, a japanese engineer who was kidnapped by the russian government and renamed Pr.Sakamotovic, build a mechanic-russian doll aiming the moon. Going trough space, PATRYOSKA have to build up with armors before landing on the satellit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Theme4.09
#413Humor2.50
#517Mood2.91
#526Graphics3.00
#531Fun3.09
#637Innovation2.88
#782Overall2.87
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Playing embedded on Chrome I am getting an error: Invoking error handler due to
Uncaught abort(126) at Error
at jsStackTrace (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:1:21628)
at stackTrace (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:1:21811)
at abort (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:30:50199)
at Array.xnk (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:23:781061)
at oMa (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:22:987846)
at qMa (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:22:988614)
at pMa (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:22:988361)
at eJb (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:12:836654)
at Dzd (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:15:1050617)
at __ATINIT__.push.func (http://marcokouyate.fr/PATRYOSKA_Web/Release/PATRYOSKA_Web.js:1:31751)
If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Windows download link is not public, can't play either way :(

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Uncaught errors on Web Release (I am in Chrome) :( looks might be fun from screenshots though.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Ok, I'll try to fix it !

PanKamil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

In the Windows download, you have put an .exe file, but not the Unity _Data folder ;P. It can't possibly work.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Damn XD I retry

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Poland can into space

Nice entry ! =D

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

not bad for a compo. but quite easy

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Do you mean, the game level is too easy ? Or you're actually talking about the development ?

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Lovely graphics and visual mood setting but it's very short and the difficulty is kind of random. Seems a shame that the game is so short after all the effort that must have gone into making the graphics, nonetheless the gameplay and controls are solid. The one suggestion I would make is to make it easier to see the helper arrow when you're in your biggest form.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Okay! Thanks for your comment! I'll do as you suggest ^^
In later versions, i want to improve the scale of difficulty, and add some challenges. Asteroids are cool, but it can get boring really fast >_>

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Error on the WebGL Build

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

What error ?

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Nice game, but I think moving the camera away diminishes the grow effect a bit too much.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

You're right, i should improve the camera update >_>

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Funny concept. And a nice space feel, thanks to control mechanics. I really enjoyed it.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I like your game. There is great feedback (thanks to the particule), so even if the gameplay is disturbing, I understood what I was doing. Too sad that you don't add some sound (I do the same, time is too short). Great first game, keep going !

Si1ver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Профессор Сакамотович это пять

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice idea using the Patryoshka for the growing theme.
The meteorites are hard to notice on the last level.

Yakka says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Really smart! I would love more levels. The only bad point is the readability of the asteroids when you get bigger. Well done!

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:40am

The game is cool to play, but maybe a bit too hard !
Anyway this is a great stuff, well done !

Muel says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Good game, comrade!
Mother homeland is proud of you.

Some may say your game lack sounds. Well, there's no sound on space so it's accurate hahahah

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I really liked this concept. I like the idea of collecting bits of a ship in space to get bigger and bigger and the asteroids added an element of challenge. Well done for sticking to the themes and wrapping it up into a game with an ending in time for the competition!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]