Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gardener Galaxy

by pro-hat-switchers - Jam Entry

A game where, starting with two buttons, you grow plants and get additional buttons. (Get it? You grew the number of inputs!)

Pro Hat Switchers is composed of:
exodrifter (https://twitter.com/exodrifter)
boshtet (https://twitter.com/blainebrezina)

Download the Desktop builds for a better experience, or jump right into the web build. If the links don't work, try the mirror.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#7Audio(Jam)4.45
#79Theme(Jam)4.24
#90Mood(Jam)3.90
#215Overall(Jam)3.66
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#339Fun(Jam)3.38

Comments

boddiul says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

The best LD34 game I have seen yet

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Really nice game and good use of the theme. Music worked well with the rhythm based mechanics.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:10pm

amazing audio and mood. very enjoyable and satisfying experience.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Very tranquil. Really enjoyed it :)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:18pm

One of the best games I've played so far, even though I suck at it

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:23pm

This is very difficult! very very very difficult. i did it though. i made it to the thanks for playing planet. it was well worth it too. the music was beutiful, and i loved it. very soothing. great game!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Could use a "you may mess up a couple of times" mechanic.

Also, the debug files are kind of large, you don't have to include them.

Cute though.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Game itself is brutally difficult since if you make one mistake you have to start all over again and it could do with some visual feedback showing how accurate on the beat I am when I hit the buttons (like most rhythm games) but I really like your twist on the theme and how well polished this entry is.

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

Looks great, very well polished and once I stopped pressing A and D as soon as the letters appeared on the screen and figured out what I actually had to do, it was fun!

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

Nice graphically and musically, but quite frustrating to play.

phi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:21am

Amazing sound and rhythm, well done. The fact that it starts over when you make a mistake is quite frustrating, also because it gets challenging rather quickly. Handling four (oddly positioned) buttons was just too much for me...
Anyway, I'd love to see a more polished version of this! As for the jam version, this is awesome!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Wow, awesome sound and graphics. The game is quite hard, I think it's because it's not intuitive to press when the circle shrinks to the size of the button. I also wished the keys were next to each other, I kept shifting keys by accident.

But overall, well done! And good take on the theme!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Great job. It always seem ambitious making a rhythm game for LD, but it was well executed and I thoroughly enjoyed it =)

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Wow good job, great use of theme, my only complaint is I wish there was more indication of when to hit the key.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Nice atmosphere. Could use better feedback on when exactly Player is supposed to press the key.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:20am

This game is incredibly awesome but at the same time too difficult for me to play it all the way through. I think the main thing it could do with is some clarification as to what the goal is - for the first two or three minutes I was just pounding on the a and d keys before I realized it was a rhythm game. Once I figured that out, I started really enjoying it - the music is really well made.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]