Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Noise Runner

by amYk777 - Compo Entry

!!! EPILEPSY WARNING !!!

Noise Runner is a game whose art and enemies are created from the bytes which compose any file that is given to it.
By default, Noise Runner uses its own executable file, NoiseRunner.exe.
However, you can specify which file you want Noise Runner to use.
In Noise Runner, you are a single byte trying to make it all the way to the end of the file you live inside.
The objective is to dodge the technicolor triangles that fly towards you and get as much score as possible.
If you are hit by a triangle, you will lose 1/4 of your score.
You gain score according to how close you are to the center of the world.
Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#393Innovation3.29
#498Graphics3.06
#544Humor2.24
#625Mood2.77
#725Theme3.38
#823Overall2.79
#867Fun2.44

Comments

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37am

Very nice! I love the graphical style to it. It's also a very interesting idea, any file at all. Crazy.

:)

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

It's like a magic eye picture came to life and hates my eyes! D:

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Wow very different, look good.

Baecun says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55am

The concept is quite brilliant, very well done. I'm not sure if this was a one time thing, but at around 2.5k score for me the game stopped, I kept moving but the background was fairly static and the triangles stopped coming at me, only to resume at 6k score. Also not sure if it's intentional, but I've bumped against stuff on purpose and you seem to be unable to die, you just lose score, doesn't that kind of defeat the purpose of an endless runner? Or is there an actual finish line?
Don't mean to sound rude with all of the above, the concept was absolutely brilliant, keep it up.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

so beautiful it made me CRY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

amYk777 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Baecun, thank you for your comments.
With regard to collision with triangles, I did not want the game to end there so that the player can experience the visual presentation of the entire file if they so choose.
As for the gap of nothingness you are referring to, that is simply a large sequence of bytes in the NoiseRunner.exe file which are all set to the value of 0. I'm not quite sure why this is the case, as I am not very familiar with the way executable files are compiled. Regardless, if I were to implement a "fix" for this, I believe it would compromise the visual fidelity of the file being used. If I wanted to do that, I would just jump over large strings of 0's like the one you encountered. However, I prefer to preserve as much visual fidelity as I can.

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

Although it's a neat idea, honestly this is very hard to look at. Congrats on finishing a game though!

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

With so many glitchy games I've tested here I thought this wouldn't work (specially because I'm in Linux) but it worked all right.
Trippy!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Beautiful

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

Very cool visuals. I'm gonna save it for some... err... different moment...

amYk777 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36am

I'm going to release a very small bug fix in a moment here. I noticed that I forgot to populate a nearly inconsequential array that was supposed to contain all powers of 2 within the range of [1,128]. This had no effect on the gameplay, but it did have a somewhat significant effect on what the background looked like. Stand by.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

Alright, it looks like the update has been applied. Enjoy the marginally improved background art!

RiOrius says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

Looks great! Super trippy.

Couldn't tell if it ever stops: it seemed to go on for way longer than I was willing to play, so I just let it run for a good twenty minutes and it was still going...

dsv101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Noice!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55am

It is more of an experience than a game. The style maybe cool but it lacks everything else like gameplay mechanics, objective, win/lose condition.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:05am

This game requires more glithces! Too easy to play, but funny though.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:57am

Cool game. Sadly I got slightly nauseous and couldn't play it for long.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:54am

I understand the fact that you want to represent the file but I think that just adding a cycling triangle spawning at your current position +- random(value) depending of the file would make the game more fun to play and will stil lrespect your core idea. I spent 4-5K of the game waifing for something to happens ( only few small triangle on upper and down side of the screen ). I would also love generated audio , or maybe just singles notes played on each triangle spawn. The exe exploration is a cool idea.

jigalx says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Very cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]