Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Just Me and Only Me Against The World

by adamgryu - Compo Entry

--> EDIT: I added sound and some more levels to my post-jam version, which you can check out if you liked this version :)
http://adamgryu.itch.io/just-me-and-only-me-against-the-world


There's an alien invasion!
No-one showed up to help fight but you, so naturally, clone yourself over and over so you, and and only you, can GROW your team and fight to save the earth.

It features fast paced run-and-gun action with clones!
I also included a co-op mode (but I never had the chance to test it properly) which should support all controller types.


CONTROLS:
--------
Single Player:
Arrow Keys- Move
Z - Jump
X - Shoot
LShift / C - Run

Multi-Player
-----------
For the gamepad, use the face buttons.
When one or two players are on the keyboard, the action keys are now
FGC and ,.?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#11Fun4.20
#23Overall4.13
#40Graphics4.35
#50Humor3.79
#51Mood3.90
#155Innovation3.72
#554Theme3.64

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

The game is tons fun, the graphics are mind-blowing for a 48 hour game, and the innovation is amazing! My favorite entry so far. I give this 5 stars overall. :D

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

OK, I had a blast with this one. Really, loved the crappy old arcade machine feeling, that was a very nice touch. Growing myself to numbers was really fun.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

AWESOME! I love the style you're pulling off here. At first I thought it was going to a be a pretty standard run and jump shooter with a fun aesthetic. And then a horde of my clones popped out and I lost my goddamn mind.

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

Cool game!

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Great graphics, and cool with co-op. The warping was a little weird in 2 player mode though!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

This is awesome. The shooting effects feel really satisfying. I really like the dark chaotic world with the interesting particle systems. The charters are simple but engaging. Really great entry.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25am

This is really, really good. I thought it was going to be just a simple arcade-y style game but the cloning mechanic is really great.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Loads of fun! I will probably come back and play this again :) love the art style.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

I would totally buy a full game version of this. I really wish there was some audio but this game is really amazing even without it.

Jynshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

This is really fun and quirky! It has great art and overall style.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36pm

nice game dude.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice graphics, sounds would have been amazing! Had fun with this game.

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice Style, i felt like it was a bit too punishing at the start, but once you got your clones the difficulty seemed fine. I think just a few Sound Effects would've already made it much better.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Wut. How did you even. SO GOOD.

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Great fun, love the graphics effect, the player has issues when on the edge of something as they fall off at an angle

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Hi. Oh this feels like I could put a coin into some device. Nice Retro-Feeling. With some sound fx it would do much better. I played it with mouse and keyboard. It is quite difficult. I like it. Good job

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Man even without sound, it's like you can feel the impact of every hit. Very satisfying and sound would make it even better.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

This game is great but i really miss the sound

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I especially like that you can look in front of you

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really spot-on! I'd love to read about how you did some of the camera logic.

The writing is Earthbound-tier.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47pm

The game is realy fun, and such a great idea.
My only complaint is that my swarm can get a bit awkward to control once it grows big.
Fun game.
:D

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Really neat game with cool graphics. I found myself just continously holding down the shoot button as I played, there was no incentive not to.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Great game. Really like the old CRT screen finish.

psypol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35pm

very nice. i wish to be able to spend those little coins you collect and have different modifiers ( power, shoot type etc..) a bit like binding of isaac

Robber says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

very fun game with original ideas, really missed some music and audio to get me even more excited!

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16pm

The animation is amazing

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Very cool game! I really liked the mood. The art is amazing, and the GameFeel too.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Wow! That was an incredible game. Great job!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

great arcade game! gamepad controls would be very nice :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

This was really fun! I liked the graphics a lot and the style was cool.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Cool mechanics and fantastic style, great job!

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:39am

Off the charts! The lack of sound is a downer, but the rest of it is just fantastic :D If Badlands were a platformer, this is what it would be :)

The visual juice is fantastic, the overall platforming is responsive and interesting. I liked how the slopes affected the characters.

The chaos of the play is both cool and frustrating, you can really only watch out for so many of your characters at a time, so it's a bit button mashy. But satisfyingly so.

Missing sound feels pronounced with the arcady feel. A shame because I believe it could have been decently audible in an hour with BFXR.

Good stuff :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20pm

This is amazing!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48pm

awesome! cool visuals and fast paced gameplay. the cloning feature is a clever and fun idea. I also like that you could destroy the textboxes. It only misses the sound effects, other than that, one of the best games, well done :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:37am

I have no idea how you created this amazing game in such a short amount of time! So far, this is my favorite entry.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:52am

Thanks so much for all the great feedback and comments peeps :) I am really sad I missed out on sound, so if you want to try a post-ludum version (with sound!), check out it on itch!

http://adamgryu.itch.io/just-me-and-only-me-against-the-world

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Veryg strange game... About 107Mb and no sound? Are you joke? What content are you using actually?

adamgryu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:24pm

@SaintHeiser:
I included the source with the Windows build, since I didn't originally know it we could make a separate link for it. It's the entire Unity project, including the Library folder, which includes a bunch of cached processed data for quicker loading in the Unity Editor. That's what adds most of the additional MB. The actual game and content folder is only 30MB, which is basically a minimum for Unity projects due to the size of the runtime.

The actual size of the .ZIP file is still small enough due impressive compression (lots of duplicate data, probably?), so the download isn't too large anyway. Although, I should probably remove the source files from that download, since it takes up extra space.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:41pm

The action gets pretty intente in the later stages! I really enjoyed the idea of cloning yourself, and even if the gameplay is simple the controls are responsive enough to make it fun and interesting. I really liked it.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Really fun game! I loved the little guys multiplying, the animation was so cute, the effects were awesome!

I think you need lock the rotation of the little green guys. The tutorial was great but need to tell the controls to the players. The multiplayer have a little issue with the camera, when one player dies the camera stops.

But overall it is amazing game! And with audio would be perfect!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Great job! The whole game looks and feels really nice. I'm yet to test multiplayer, but I can guess it's tons of fun!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

Neat concept! I imagine this has been done before, but it's executing extremely well.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Hey, you're a killer! this is exactly what i want, no sound but that's not a problem, i found someone to follow ;) well done!!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:29pm

FANTASTIC what a brilliant entry, it's a shame it has no sound, but I wanted to try the compo version :) some intense music on it would make it a game that you could easily sell! Oh so much fun :)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Fantastic little game with a great feeling (and coop !)

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Cool game with great graphics! Nice job!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Hah! Amazing. Love love love the art and animations. The camera effect on top of the 2d sprites works out great, and all the distortion effects are perfect.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Enjoyed the game! It was tricky at start to beat the portal, because it kept spawning enemies on my head when I was in the middle of a jump, but I'm glad I stayed, the game is too fun not to play!
Also, I think the run feature is odd, and even if it's not it'd be more comfortable to have Run Button to the left of jump, and not to the right of shoot

guoboism says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:07am

Great gameļ¼

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06am

haha, alright, this is definitely one of the games I'm gonna save for later, it was so much fun!

would love to see you keep working on it, add sounds and what not.

I really liked the 'feel', and graphics, and idea... it was just plain fun! overall, this was great, excellent job! :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:42pm

This was amazing. Loved it. Great look, style, controls and most of all fun! Thanks for making this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]