Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Determinist Ball

by Trizek35 - Compo Entry

Determinist Ball is about two things :
- reaching a new stepstone in photorealist rendering
- influencing the destiny of a ball with two controls !

A or Q to attract to the closest Orange block
Z or W to attract to the closest Blue block
(Works on both Azerty and Qwerty keyboards)


Unfortunately I realized too late the game was tuned for accurate mechanical keyboard, and is therefore very hard to play with normal keyboards !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08am

Very cool idea but the difficulty of the part with the horizontal red bars slalom skyrocketed. Cant beat that.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Very innovative!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:38pm

really nice game mechanics! Well done ;)

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:40pm

That level design is so evil...

crazya02 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Cool concept!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:07pm

interesting game! i liked the concept, but it was pretty hard to control still. beat it though!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Really enjoyed this. If it weren't for the sudden increase in difficulty at the set of horizontal red bars, I would have kept going. Granted, I spent a good deal of time trying! I'd play a game like regularly for sure as a concentration task! Great job!

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Whoohoo! Beat it! Became easier when I decided to have orange/blue operate with left/right hands. Nice level design, nifty movement mechanic (I'm a sucker for gravity swing platformers, so I was delighted by the final challenge :))

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Absolute genius game design, it made me rage quit. I respect the crap out of this game. Awesome.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]