Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Adventure Story 34

by PuddleOfWater - Jam Entry

Use the mouse to click on one of the two buttons.


Wow, still under time pressure! Made me feel alive.
I had a rollercoaster ride of ups and downs during this Ludum Dare, but I am glad I am here. Looking around the posts I see talented people. And that makes me grow up towards the skills I see.


I hope you are in the habit of giving feedback on what is important to you. No matter good or bad, that is a way of being respectful. That way you enable people to adapt.

Enable me to adapt. <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2001Coolness30%

Comments

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Clever storytelling. Really liked the idea of being more left or right brainy xD

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I wonder who the other person was who you were trying to forget (or not forget). In the end I didnt get any suprises, guide just told me that I made it to the end (weeee).
Didnt play again, but it left me wonder what the other two endings are

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Tried the Linux version, but it wouldn't start because of me having a too old Java version. Maybe you can compile so it works in older versions?

$ java -jar Adventure\ Story\ 34.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: twoButtons/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:800)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:449)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:71)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:361)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:355)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:354)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:425)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:308)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:358)
at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper.checkAndLoadMain(LauncherHelper.java:482)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Nice idea for the game. Gui was not very exciting but clear, and the story was interesting.

PuddleOfWater says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Martin Vilcans: I have changed the download link for Linux. It includes an alternative version that I hope works for you. I barely have any experience with Linux, so I am crossing my fingers at this point.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Yup, now it works!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Neat game, i like story driven games and that one was fine, but story could be a bit more engaging. Anyway solid entry

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Nice idea, I enjoy this kind of games! Some feedback: Sometimes the right/left-brain choices felt distinguished, sometimes they didn't. Some of the less distinguished could perhaps be cut out, to highlight the more interesting parts of the story line. Nevertheless, good job and good luck with future games!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]