Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spinny Whale

by burntcustard - Compo Entry

A game where you control a whale falling through the sky, trying to hit as many (or as few) pots of flowers as possible.

If you're browsing window on PC is too little, zoom out! If on mobile, try fullscreen! No embedded web version because I didn't know about sizing limits :(

No, it doesn't fit the theme(s) that well. It uses two buttons on PC, and kind of two buttons (left side, right side) on touchscreen.

Art style is all over the place because I have no idea what I'm doing. But I'm pretty happy with how the whale and the mountains turned out, even if they don't match.

My first ever Ludum dare entry, and my first time using Phaser.io, which good, but I know I'm not using it very... well (i.e. my code is a mess). The whole project was about ~20 hours of learning and makin' - I'm going to be more organised next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Humor3.67
#315Graphics3.41
#512Innovation3.12
#528Overall3.18
#639Fun2.94
#677Theme3.47
#2210Coolness20%

Comments

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice, pixel art. Congrats on your fist ludum dare. Fun game, nicely done!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

It took me awhile to realize I was moving left and right from the air-drag. There should be a better background that lets you know you're moving horizontally.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Best use of Douglas Adams reference :) Enjoyed this!

timburbank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Love the improbable concept. Movement system is really fun, but also bit difficult to get a handle on (pianoman373's comment about air drag helped understand what was happening).

burntcustard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

@pianoman373 Yeah you're right it's not obvious enough. To deal with that there were plans to add many clouds, and stars, and some little "whoosh-lines" pointing behind your direction of travel so it's more obvious which way you're going. Ran into trouble trying to figure out a good way to do a parallax effect, but hopefully I can add all those things one day!

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Very fun, weird game and unique controls.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:48am

Congrats on your first game. We both had a somewhat similar idea — and we both used Phaser.io — except yours was a whale going down, and mine was a seed going up. :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:57pm

I couldn't get the hang of how the petunias were affected by my button pushing...

I found it highly improbable that I would collect anything...

The art looked cool, though...

vortex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:13pm

It took me a while to realize, that i could controll where the wale was moving instead of just controll the rotation. A background with more going on would help...

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:30pm

The air resistance was a nice touch. Man I love flying my whale in the sky.

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:30am

lol, loved the physics and graphics, good use of theme. great work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:35am

cannot believe no one has picked up on the hitchikers reference yet - nice one!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:16am

Cute art and the gameplay definitely has potential - the one thing that'd really help would be some more background content (clouds maybe?) so you could tell which way you're actually moving. Still, nice work; great first entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]