Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jeffrey's Adventure

by CaptainRed_ - Jam Entry

Five people decided to make a game in their free time over the weekend.
Too much ambition and a lack of skill from these boys gives you Jeffery's Adventure!

We had a lot planned for this game and we created a lot more content, but we ran into some issues so we will have to just give you the solid game without sound, proper graphics, menus, many cut-scenes and end game content, which took up half of our time. Any ways, please enjoy!

Jeffrey's Adventure is a comedic buggy puzzle platformer! The goal is to get to the end of all of the level and escape the evil space pirate's captivity. If you want an updated version with more bug fixes and an actual story please feel free to comment.

Z = Jump
X = Shoot

Red button blocks need to be shot to activate
Green button blocks need to be touched to activate

R = Restart Level(You'll need this...)

I apologize in advance for the various game breaking bugs you may find as we did not have much time to play-test.

NOW FIXED SO IT'S BEATABLE!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#532Fun(Jam)3.14
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#716Overall(Jam)3.11
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03
#888Mood(Jam)2.59

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

This is actually pretty fun

cpttango22 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Really fun game, pretty hard though! Was a good play, I loved all the fun boss fights! cant wait for a polished version to come out, pls update!!!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

I enjoyed this, although it's a very hard platformer, which is something I'm not really good at. It would improve a lot with sound and bugfixing.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

yeah, we had music planned and cutscenes for each stage however we couldn't get the game to compile with them so we had to scrap them, we will try to get an updated version out once we sleep

wesley werner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56am

You had a nice concept and the art is pretty reasonable - I really like that background!

Your level design fails you a bit, as wall-jumps are frustrating. Wall-jumps work on the premise that the player controls their direction, without that control it's just a mashing-the-jump-key and hoping you get to the top, and you give up after 3 minutes of fruitless hops.

Still a nice idea and one you could refine :)

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Fun and hard game!

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Good game! Concept and level design are quite good.

murlsousa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Good job

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

For a game that's fairly buggy, this is actually pretty fun, despite some terrible level design choices, like how the wall jumping segments were handled.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57pm

A little bit rough around the edges, but a great incarnation of a two-button jump'n'run, well done!

Unfortunately, I couldn't make it past the first (?) boss fight. I gave it three shots to the head, but wasn't even sure, it damaged him.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Very challenging. i fought all the bosses, and it was disappointing to finish the final level and have nothing happen.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30am

The game itself was fun, graphics could use a tiny boost. The level design was fun to play. :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

I got too frustrated to beat the white striped boss :(. I liked the level design, and I think that with some bug fixes and music the game would have kept me playing until the end.

I'd suggest changing the world physics so that the character doesn't get stuck on walls (and instead slides down). Every time I lost that way it made me sad. Also, the double jump doesn't reset when you land on an "arrow" block! That may have been intentional (?) but I found it frustrating.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:23am

Fun, quite challenging experience.
The grafics are funny and fit the gameplay.
I think the walljump-up-passages and the spike hitboxes were somewhat frustrating.
Good job!

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Nice little game that I would like to play after some polish. I really like the mechanics of the game, and I think a little tuning and sound would really make this very playable, so I hope you put some more time into it.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:14pm

awesome, I hope you continue working on this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]