Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Staten & Kapitalet

by Lamebait - Jam Entry

Play as the mayor as you influence the political stance of your city. Your two options: Capitalism or Communism.

Capitalism contributes to the economy of your city but decreases the welfare of your citizens. Communism does the opposite. Neutral city blocks decrease both your economy and welfare so you need to take temporary stances to ensure that your city grows. If you run out of money or welfare you lose.

Note: The political implications of this game do not necessarily represent our personal views. It's just a silly oversimplification. :)

Controls:
'Right arrow key' - More capitalism, less communism
'Left arrow key' - More communism, less capitalism

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#74Innovation(Jam)3.87
#100Theme(Jam)4.19
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#354Humor(Jam)2.92
#619Fun(Jam)3.03

Comments

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Nice graphics. I like the juicy tweening going on there. I thought the depth of field effect could be turned down a little bit, or refocused as the city gets larger buildings.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Very interesting and unique, managed to get a fairly sizable city once I figured out a good strategy. The bouncy animations and the popping sound effects are very satisfying.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Very nice and smooth graphics, but i don't feel like the gameplay is good enought. It just doesn't feel immersive enought, like you are doing anything.

Otherwise a really beatiful game

vortex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Wow! That game was great! I just kept smiling playing this game! :)
When I first saw the game on the games page, I thought that I would spend the next five minutes reading an instructions guide on how you play. What I got was two button controls. I am in love with the theme!
The graphics are really great, and the animations and pop sounds are really statisfying. Sadly the framerate started going down when my city grew.
What I really loved is that you made a game for the audience it is targeted at. The level of complexity fits the five minute play sessions, that people are going to spend on your game perfectly.
A little negative point is that I didn't feel an immediate response to the changes that I made. You could possibly have indicated the actual amount of red/blue relation somehow...

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Nice modelings. Intriguing concept. I enjoy it a lot. Expect to see more progressive content unlock while playing.

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Fantastic visuals and animations

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Gorgeous graphics, but doesn't much have to it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14am

Enjoyed this really interesting game, nice job!

windwarrior says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Very nice game, enjoyed this very much :D

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27am

Not entirely certain what the goal was, but I loved the visuals and it was fun to play. Great work on the animation. There's something super satisfying about hearing the little pop noises as it speeds up.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Very nice graphics and audio. The bouncy-ness of the animations and the lowpoly art-style really gave it a nice touch (reminded me a bit of the hotel-pieces from Monopoly, which was a nice touch). The popping sound also worked quite well with drawing my attention.

Gameplay-wise I do think that the mechanics are interesting, it's just that I feel like I might not have fully gotten their application. Sometimes, it felt like as though the bars kept decreasing even though I favored Capitalism more or Communism more than the other. I'm not sure if this was a bug, or if I played it so passive I just spawned a bunch of neutral blocks. The latter seems a bit likely.

Still though, loved the atmosphere and also the fact that you quoted probably my favorite Ebba Grön-song with the title. Nice job! :)

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

This concept is as brilliant as the graphics. The endgame scenes are great as well. Well done.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]