Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cubyrinth

by kezhaar - Jam Entry

Cubyrinth is an atmospheric Puzzle/Exploration game.

If you quickly want to know what it's all about, check the Youtube video below!

The level is constructed like a Rubik's Cube, where every sections can lead you anywhere if you choose the right button to press.

The game is compatible with Oculus Rift and firstly attend to be an impressive concept in VR, it's playable without an Oculus Rift too. Right now the experience is still a bit nauseous in VR, we recomend you to test without the Oculus if you play for an extended time. We will fix it later and add a proper version on Oculus Share!

---------
Theme: we chose to focus on "Two Buttons" theme, any action you can make is with pressing a two buttons terminal.

---------
Controls: WASD (or ZQSD) and mouse to move, shift to run, space to jump, mouse click to activate buttons. You can also use a X360 controller (A to press button, X to jump, trigger to run and back to reset Oculus position).

---------
Directions: You have to open the 3 doors on the bridge in order to complete the game. These 3 doors need to be openned in the right order (since opening one closes the way to another one). The first one is in a sci-fy styled room, the second after a big labyrinth and the third after a serie of jumps from the high pillars. All of these door openers are accessible from the first section (the one with the red tower) so you mainly have to run across section 2 and section 3 to unlock the right paths. We also left some unexpected routings with funny exlpoits when we realized how hard the game will be! :)

---------
Challenge: there is a chrono at the end of the level if you want to speedrun it! Kezhaar did it in 15 minutes so try and beat him!

Thanks to everyone who takes the time to play it!

Made by
@tentacode - code, animation, VR support
@kezhaar - design, audio and graphic ressources

Known bugs: nauseous in VR, buttons can be hard to focus, there is a lacking respawn point that can make you spawn upside down. Please tell us in the comments if you find more so that we can fix them in a future version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#124Innovation(Jam)3.74
#154Audio(Jam)3.70
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#275Overall(Jam)3.58
#498Fun(Jam)3.18
#518Graphics(Jam)3.46
#924Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

Nice little 3d "puzzle box", haven't got the patience to compete it though :p

Also not entirely sure about how it fits into the theme (oh wait, is it because the screen thing has two buttons on it?)

tentacode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41am

Hello everyone ! Gamedev of the game here.

Yep, "Two Buttons" is because every terminal in the puzzle has two buttons. Enjoy this mind breaking little level ! Try it in VR if you have an Oculus.

You should be able to control it "FPS Style" (QSDZ, shift for run, space for jump, mouse click for interaction) or with an Xbox 360 controller.

nicso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Really cool idea and nice production.
The mood fits perfectly with the gameplay.

Controls seems a little bit on the slippery side.

Maybe you should block the player while the cube is rotating tho, cause i managed to pass from the "factory" to the "labyrinth" while the cube was rotating :)
Death after that spawned me upside down ^^

tentacode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

nicso : thanks for the review :D obviously it's a lot buggy and I did not have tome to playtest it enough, glad you liked it though. I have the same feedback for the controls, we used the Oculus FPS Controller and it could be improved a bit.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Love it! The atmosphere, the puzzling, the graphics, it's great! One thing though, where do I go? Haha ;)

p.s. the buttons are hard to press sometimes

kezhaar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Thanks for the review :) Yeah, I know the button pressing is not optimal, especially when not using the Oculus, will fix this in a future version !

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Interesting idea, but a bit of directions would have been very helpful ;)

kezhaar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Directions : you have to go at the top of the blue tower :p Keep at it, kezhaar who knows the route by heart does it in 10 / 15 min :p - tentacode (logged in as kezhaar for voting).

There is a chrono at the end, anyone wants to speedrun it ? We challenge you !

Clavus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Pretty great puzzle design! Played it in my DK2. Sadly the default first-person movement system is a bit too nauseating for me to play for extended periods, so I had to stop after 10 minutes. I might come back to it later because it did look very interesting.

kezhaar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:42am

For information, you have to open 3 doors in order to complete the game. This 3 doors need to be open in the right order (since opening one close the away to another one)
The first one is in a scify styled room, the second after a big labyrinth and the third after a serie of jumps from high pillars. All of these door openers are accessible from the first section ( the one with the red tower ), so you mainly have to run across section 2 and section 3 to unlock the right paths. I also leave some unexpected routings with funny exlpoit when i realize how hard the game will be :)

kezhaar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Updated the description and added a video demo :) enjoy! - @tentacode

Codexus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Nice idea.Played it in VR but after a while there was just too much slow going trial and error to make any progress and i gave up.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Cool concept, nice mood, could use some more direction for the player. Good job!

marknc says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:50pm

I think that the game itself seems well made given the time constraints. My biggest critique would be that the graphics are a bit too simple, I think you could have tweaked the shaders to give it more polish and appeal.

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:03pm

@marknc thanks for your review, indeed the shaders have been setup in a hurry, we will polish them on the next version !

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Great puzzle game and nice mood. Good job.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Amazing idea. This game is too cool for LD. Only one concern - slow moving without pressing Shift and slow part of cube rotation.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:04pm

very nice concept for a puzzle game! like it! sometimes i was lost and had no idea what i do :D .. but i enjoyed this game. very well dobe :)

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Interesting idea, but should be more polished to play ;)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:54pm

This is a cool concept and the VR looks OK, but I just fell kind of lost and couldn't get anywhere, even with the directions provided.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]