Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Roll-Ball

by mukult - Compo Entry

My Very First LUDUM DARE!! YAY!!

Controls :
A -> Rotate LEFT
D -> Rotate RIGHT

Its a simple game, but I had fun making it.
I started a bit late on the Ludum Dare. Got only 5-6 hours to make something!
But i'm proud to have finished something. The algorithm sometimes gets messed up for some reason. So, bear with me a little.

Used Unity3d, SFXR for sound, Paint for a few textures.

Enjoy!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#424Fun3.23
#475Graphics3.09
#502Overall3.21
#506Theme3.70
#588Audio2.37
#673Humor1.81
#692Innovation2.77
#724Mood2.58

Comments

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Pretty fun, I dig the quickness you need to respond!

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Fun and cool concept, but difficult to maneuver with the camera angle.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

I can't get the game to load, it could be the web player.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

It's fun, and a neat idea. Sometimes it can be hard to react to what it gives you, and when you jump I'm never sure I'm going to land it right haha.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13am

the game wouldnt stay in fullscreen mode, but overall the game was good.

Mr. Magma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

A great game for the time it was created in! Fits the theme perfectly!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

Nice graphics, quite fun and decent audio. My only complaint is the camera, it was easy to fail if the camera wasn't in the correct place. Other than that, good job! :)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

Very challenging, it's a perfect mobile game as well!

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

The 2 button control scheme hurts more than it helps here, unfortunately. Congrats on finishing a game!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22am

This is really nice. I'd suggest speeding up the ball over time because once you really get the hang of it it gets a little boring. I really like the transition effects for the cubes coming in and out

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30am

Fun game with good FX and a polished feel. Camera angle was a little odd, but it didn't seem to hinder me. Audio was a little too sharp on the ears at times though.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47am

A lovely little timewaster! It could use a bit more depth, but eh, 48 hours is 48 hours. I especially love your sounds, they're very satisfying.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56am

The camera angle makes it pretty hard to judge when to turn. The effect of the cubes coming in is pretty cool.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

Great gameplay, great graphics!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45am

Liked the game! Did you think of presenting the player like two possible routes at one time?

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53am

As mentioned, the camera angle was a bit odd at times. Other than that, it was a pretty fun play. Nice little challenge.

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:02am

Cool concept, reminds me of a mobile game, whose name I don't remember right now

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43am

Nice take on an age-old game! It's a tad buggy though, there were some cubes here and there that were missing, making it impossible to keep rolling. Other than that, nice! I like the way the cubes fly on their places. :)

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44am

Hey, that's a quite good concept you got there - hope you'd add more and give it a personalized twist.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45am

Thank you so much for the valuable feedback and the comments...
I really appreciate you guys giving the game a go.
I will be sure to document the feedback and improve upon the game. It does look like a good mobile game... I will polish it more and publish it soon.

@ChristianBraun : I did think of putting two routes...but within the time I had... it was kinda difficult to put that in the algorithm. I have it in my list though :)

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

I liked the art style and sound effects. Felt kind of retro futuristic. Minimalistic gameplay, but challenging. Not bad for a weekend, but it could be built upon to add power ups and various effects when rolling on different kinds of tiles. It has potential.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10am

Very simple concept rather pleasantly executed. A little hard for my taste, due in large part to the camera angle, as others have mentioned.

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:02pm

very difficult at first but then you get used to the prospective it becomes more playable
very nice graphics and the generation of the level (random i guess) is really cool
could have put some more effort in texts and buttons

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Is the dropbox link down or is that just me?

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:23pm

This is interesting, I felt it started a bit fast and the jumping parts confused me a bit, but generally solid.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Fun and addicting little game!

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Except the camera, everything works well

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

did 12428. Died on purpose after that since there are only so many patterns.

It was pretty hard at the begining but when I understood that it was easier to focus my attention on the ball rather that on the track it became too easy.

Possible improuvements:
-ball could go faster with time
-add more patterns
-invert control / give the choice
-use left and right arrows instead of A and D

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Simple but cool game.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I love the graphics and feel to the game. It is the right amount of challenging.

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Really awesome "growing" effect :)
It's a simple idea, but executed very well.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Poor level design

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Very nice! Hey, why not use WebGL since you're using Unity3D?

mattrified says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I liked it. Quick gameplay with simple yet clear minimalist visuals. One time I jumped right over my landing mark though. Wasn't sure if I didn't rotate properly or if the game screwed me over.

Huginn18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice, little game with beautiful graphics..

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Oh neat idea. The ball could have been an arrow or something. Perhaps a bit smaller to give more latitude at the corners.

really liked the method the path was made but it was disconcerting a bit that I didn't have a lot of time to plan my moves.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

This could turn out to be interesting if developed more! Nice work.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53pm

i liked the idea of this game was nice , for some reaosn when i clicked on the maximize button on firefox the controls becme unresponsive so had to play in smaller window

overall i liked it and enjoyed playing it

Well Done!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I've seen games very similar to this before, but it fits perfectly for the theme. Also, you should either modify the html file unity generates to make it and change the dimensions so you don't have scrollbars in the embedded frame. Or fix fullscreen.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Very fun concept! This should be an app. Love the particle effects, and the sounds help immerse.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37pm

that's super hard...nice entry!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

Cool game, great job for your first one!
Really digging the art style.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

Solid Entry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35am

Very Nice. I was pleasantly surprised by the addicting gameplay.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Nice first attempt. I really liked the idea.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

Very cool. The controls are really solid. Would have loved to see a score feature but other than that perfect :D

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

It's a nice game, a bit difficult. Am I right that the ball doesn't snap to the cubes? It might be a bit difficult sometimes because of that. Other than that, good job ;)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

great use of visuals, challenging gameplay, nice job

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Sound isnt so good but otherwise pretty good

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I really liked your game ! Especially the procedurally generated levels !
There are other very interesting ideas !

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Great fun. And very addictive having simple gameplay, well done.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Simple but fun!

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Takes time to get used to controls. Instant restart from the fail place would be nice too.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Fun game! The buildup animations are very smooth and work well. Good use of the two-button-controls.
Sound is quite annoying, though...

ploy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Good job, bro. Yellow block is my favourite :D Restart with R button (or A+D) would be great, I want to forget about mouse at all when I play this game :) My record is 8856

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14am

Nice growing effect. Pretty good for 5 hours. Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

Not bad. Gameplay looking like it has some lack. I think there isn't clearly height of jumping, so player disoriented. Maybe ball shadow can helps...

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56am

Well done for 5-6 hours, man! It's wicked hard, but engaging!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12am

Game is enjoyable. Really fun to play when you have a bit of time left. Would be great on mobile platforms I suppose. Great stuff!

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice first game. It's fun to play and fits the theme. I had a few missing cubes, but otherwise it was working fine. Would be nice to remove the mouse control for restart and start and use the keys for that too, so you wouldn't need to switch between keyboard and mouse.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Really good idea, and I like how each piece of the path interpolates into place, however it needs something in the background since it's hard to tell how long you've fallen. Also I didn't realise the ball was 3D at first because the texture wasn't very clear.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07am

Very nice game. loved the particle effect when the blocks fell into place. Look forward to seeing a post compo version. I do agree that there should be a background instead of the blackness though. Well done regardless!

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:45am

Simple yet compelling concept. I like how the level unfolds before you, but I sometimes had trouble understanding where I had to go, especially after a jump of off a blue block. Great entry nonetheless.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:32am

Nice entry. Very simple but fun.

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38pm

impressive how the level generates. like the way the blocks animate to make the level.
took a while to get into the controls but was fun when i got used to it, awesome!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:54pm

The game play is really fun but it's quite difficult. This could make an awesome mobile game.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Very impressive game, I think it is perfectly suitable for mobile. The sound of the cubes it was too much aggressive, I think one more relaxing audio would be better.
I loved the particles that you made.
Btw, very nice job. I see potential game in this!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Great but pretty challenging game!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Cool concept, well executed!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Nice entry! I like the way the path is getting constructed while you are moving! Great job ! ;)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:01am

Simple, well made, and fun to watch! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]