Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

grOw

by Piode - Compo Entry

How far can you grOw? Combining Ludum Dare 34's two themes of 'growing' and 'two button controls', grow your monstrous plant as large as you can in this simple arcade game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#76Theme4.24
#102Overall3.81
#108Fun3.73
#126Graphics3.91
#329Mood3.19
#498Innovation3.13

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13am

Could definitely see this as a game for mobile devices. Pretty original game, it was fun!

Rscar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Favorite game so far I think. Simple, but feels so polished, well done!

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Good idea and nicely put together.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Really nice work! Super smooth execution. I love the detail of making the dot in the title the first dot ingame <3 Cheers!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Like the design, it's cool and has the potential to be addicting. a few additional powerups? make it so when you hit things it slows you down like if you haven't eaten a pellet for a while instead of just dying instantly?

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

There are tons of games like this, even within LD34, so can't give many innovation points. However, this is one of the best executions on the concept. Smooth gameplay, fantastic level design, gorgeous graphics. Add some relaxing music and throw this on the app store, it's a gem.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

This would be really great if it had some sound.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I love the visuals! And I like how eating the pellets makes you physically grow in all directions, naturally making the course harder as you go. couple bugs though: you can press 'down' to set your speed to a low amount, but consecutive presses speed yourself up greatly, allowing you to go all the way up without eating any pellets. also I got to the end eating all the golden pellets but 1, and the game says i got '8/8'.
Nice job otherwise!

burntcustard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I got 180! The starting area is really nice, but then as you go up the terrain is more and more bland (and game-ey? Like not real or themed, you know.) I also found it a bit strange that you couldn't "grow" downwards at all - gameplay wise that restriction is fine, I just didn't expect it because there's no logical reason not to be able to grow down? Also had a bit of an issue where I couldn't figure out a restart keyboard shortcut. Overall really good!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

fun little entry.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

This is definitely not the first game to interpret the theme in this way. Even still, this was a competent use of the theme with appealing graphics and a nice use of optional collectibles.

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Really liked the art and feel of this one! Super simple but perfectly executed :)

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Loved the graphics and the animation of the plant, and the gameplay is pretty fun and addictive, good job!

alltimeemma1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

Fantastic and unique game, love the detail that you went into with the petals and leaves growing off of the vine :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15am

Cute game. What if pacman were a plant? It'd be a little like this, I think :) Love the simple storybook graphics. It works fine with no sound but some cute, warm sounds and music would add a lot! Good job on this.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:22am

Really polished and smooth gameplay! Nice work. It's challenging, but eventually you learn how best to approach each section of the level and you get further each time.

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:00am

Really solid and smooth gameplay with a lovely clean simple look!

EmmaSKulin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I could imagine this dame to work so nicely on Smarthones. It is very well done and feels very good while playing

knason says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

I liked this I played it for quite some time. Nice graphics (when I saw that first dot inside the O it made me smile, I like nice things like that) Nice job on the game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]