Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Expando-Balls

by IanGraven - Compo Entry

This is a simple two button puzzle game.

Press D to grow the ball.
Press A to create a new ball.
Press A + D to restart the puzzle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#6Theme4.57
#15Innovation4.28
#54Overall3.97
#124Fun3.69
#199Audio3.29
#235Mood3.35
#328Graphics3.39
#368Humor2.62

Comments

trykondev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25am

Really simple and elegant visual style, and great/clever use of the theme! Everything you could want from a Ludum Dare entry. Great job!

Love the name btw

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

Very original idea, though a lack of a map or zoomed out view, or the ability to undo the last ball makes for a lot of trial and error.

barret907k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

Really Simple yet fun.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09am

Innovative game! I loved the concept... But i think the design for such a game would prove to be quite difficult..

But a good game nonetheless... Thanks for making it! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

Good puzzler

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Original idea! Music got to be pretty difficult to listen to after a while.

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

A very neat idea that I hadn't seen before.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

Wow this was a really addictive puzzle! Love it!

Funske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

Great entry. The graphics were clean and simple but very good and all graphics matched the style. Music was enjoying and added to the mood and gameplay. Good game!

mrjorts says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Very good puzzle game. Lots of levels and interesting problem solving.

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:39am

Great puzzles!

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:22am

5-star! Cool concept, very innovative!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]