Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot & Dash

by thesnake91 - Compo Entry

Shoot and Dash is a very simple game where you play in the endless space and you have to survive as long as you can

I started on the game 9 hours before the deadline :X

***Added Web Player to make it easier on you fellows!
****SORRY FOR BAD LINKS I THINK THEY'RE ALL FIXED NOW

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#600Audio2.32
#687Humor1.67
#708Theme3.41
#783Innovation2.59
#807Mood2.35
#815Graphics2.39
#912Fun2.26
#941Overall2.43
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56am

Enjoyed this one ;)

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Tough game! I like the flashy explosions :)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

The OS/X link points to the Windows executable.

VascoF says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I like how the whole scene rotates instead of the ship (I did a game like that once a long time ago). Needs to be more zoomed out in order to have more time to react (or make objects move more slowly). Also, I think it's important to be able to rotate in both directions in this game. Nice job anyway, cheers :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I think it would have a lot easier if you slowed down when you turned, so the turning circle was smaller, and if you could turn left or right based on what side of the screen the cursor is positioned at.
I enjoyed it, but it was very hard.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Nice game. Two key conrols don't feel forced at all. Also, I didn't think I would get dizzy playing a 2D game :P.

Gtron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:27pm

OSX link requires permission to download.

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:39pm

damn that's hard! camera is too close the the spacesheep, it gets that sensation that you can't avoid the ennemy

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:59pm

(Played on a Galaxy S5) The turning is dizzying on mobile. Like the other comments say, the view should be zoomed out and you should be able to turn tighter. I like the graphics and the sound effects, overall this game has a very cohesive aesthetic. Solid entry, keep it up!

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:10am

Very challenging game with good audio. I got a bit dizzy while playing the game, probably caused by the rotation ;) It would be great to have some indicators in which direction you have to go to find fuel or enemies.

zulman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:39am

With potential :) Hope you'll try to polish the game, add some weapons, more tactility and bullet hell (i just like it so much) :)

P.S. OS/X version is broken, unable to launch

rkhadder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:11am

Fun game overall I really enjoyed the graphics and feel of the game - The main menu disoriented me, maybe slow down the background effect

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43pm

This was pretty cool! I'm even more impressed you started 9 hours before the deadline.

I'm not sure what was causing this but every now and then it felt like I was jumping around to random points (I'm sure they weren't actually random) but items/enemies on screen would just disappear and sometimes new ones would blink into existence and sometimes not.

Anyway, nice game!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:57pm

This is a cool game but very difficult. It's pretty good for nine hours though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]