Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Glutton

by ChristianBraun - Compo Entry

Starting as a small planet you gain more and more gravity and mass by shooting for other planets. Therefore you have to charge your beams by pressing either the left or right arrow on your keyboard or use your mouse.
But be careful, if the pink planets get in your range they may hammer down on you and cost you some life/gravity.

Please play on http://notimeforthat.org/LudumDare34/!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#238Innovation3.56
#656Theme3.52
#711Graphics2.63
#754Overall2.92
#756Mood2.52
#795Fun2.64
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01am

Interesting gameplay!!

It is very difficult to see the shooting direction though... but I guess its part of gameplay. Would have loved some music/sfx with it though.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03am

It's a bit unclear what's going on... but I won!

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03am

Such a cool concept! It's relentless and unforgiving in the beginning but after you've gained enough mass it's a little easy (since you charge faster and with more vectors) to just spray and pray :P

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13am

It is too easy to win, but the idea is nice!

Dianouille says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20am

I don't really understand the gameplay,

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27am

The shooting mechanic is pretty cool-- it's an interesting take on aiming, and graphics look crunchy!

Gameplay wise, things got out of hand when I gained more mass though-- I just constantly pressed the shoot button and shot in all directions at once. I instantly nuked everything around me and grew huge and invincible quickly!

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32am

The idea behind the gameplay and game seems fun. Though I have some problems with playing, so rating would be unfair.

Unfortunately the game crashes for me every time I hit a pink planet with projectile. It seems to shatter, then everything but the background and some pink debris disappear from screen, and the game freezes up. I use Firefox 42.0 for Ubuntu, in case you want to look into it.

cgriff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38am

It's a cool idea, but perhaps a little too easy to win seeing as it is always the best strategy to grow as fast as possible and just absorb the attacks. But it's original and interesting.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11am

I was amused when my planet got as big as the screen and I won. :P Creative control scheme to use the two-button constraint.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11am

I got really confused when my planet filled the entire screen. I really like the shooting mechanic. Great Job!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:53am

Interesting idea! I like it that the planet's size isn't the score. And the innovative shooting!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I nearly filled the screen and then it told me I lost! boo! but nice idea :)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice twist on the "entity absorb entity to grow" genre.

It becomes too easy after you grow large enough - just keep the button pressed and you kill everything. Audio would be awesome for the mood.

I like the shooting effect.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:05am

Ow, greate idea, my circle get bigger in the screen!
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]