Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MILK TEETH

by Rufson - Jam Entry

You need to remove milk teeth. They are growing all time!

How to "play", keyboard two buttons:

Right Arrow: select tooth
Down Arrow: remove tooh (hold down arrow)


enjoy:)

I made all (only sound is from freesound.org)
I wanted to do more… but I started 5 hours before LD34 end.


* Is there a loose condition? Yes! You Can loose condititon;) *

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#225Graphics(Jam)3.98
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#754Fun(Jam)2.87

Comments

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

dentist trauma simulator. played 10 seconds. 10/10

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Interesting game. Reminds me of getting teeth pulled when I was a kid...

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

This game physically hurts me. Love it!
It would be nice to have more of an objective, but torturing people by yanking their teeth out works well on its own too!

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Very odd. I like it!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

This was surprisingly good, gore is strong and nicely done for such limited assets!

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10am

Hilarious and fun! gj

gloim says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11am

this is so terrifying.... I'm loving it :)

Rscar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Oh god I feel so uncomfortable. I love it. This is so weird and I'm still listening to the crying while typing this and feel like I'm going crazy. Like a very unpleasant ASMR recording. You should do ASMR recordings for the deranged.

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Thanks! I wanted to do more but I started 5 hours before ld34 end. Thanks for playing!

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

This game makes me cringe. That said, it looks nice!

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

really good graphics and animations

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37am

Ahahahahahahaha what a game!

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

Ouch!!!

im-oab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

nice animation. :)

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

oddly satisfying haha

CMG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Is there a way to win or do the teeth grow forever? Anyway it was pleasantly disturbing! Nice bobble-head animation.

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

but but but.. why? I could feel his pain.
2 little things:
1- ears look weird because they disconnect from body when pulling teeth
2- pressing down when pincer is on the bottom row, it's inverted.


I find it weird to vote on this. Does giving good scores mean I like torturing? haha. Good job!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

This gave me creeps, well made D:

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

I don't want to play this any more. That's good??? I think??? (It's certainly entertaining) :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Oldboy: The game. Super creepy!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Wow! That's some of the most visceral interactivity I've found in a jam game. You've done a fantastic job of controlling the feel of the experience. Also it's just twisted and hilarious, great job!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

Is there a lose condition? or is that simply playing it more than 5 seconds probably means you carry some sort of psychosis?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45am

rapidly pressing down make some little music~! super cool!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06am

Ouch

No objectives obviously, but made me flinch with every teeth pulled out so good job with that!

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

This is surprisingly satisfying.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06pm

That is disturbing. And awesome. Great idea, either way!

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Ouch! I didn't want to pull out his teeth but you made me do it, you monster.. Managed 3 Teeth. I could feel his pain, argh.. Now I feel bad.

That aside, it was an interesting experience. Great mood! The way a tooth isn't coming out directly adds a lot to it. Really well done for 5 hours work, I wouldn't want to know how you came up with the idea :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Well, it was interesting.

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Is there a lose condition? Yes! You Can lose condititon;)

sararyCow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

This is the gorest game I played for a while. Very good idea!

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Dear lord, i cant play this for long. Goal achieved? ;-)
Nice artstyle and juice.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Awwww Outch!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

why

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I suffer for the kid...

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Love the graphics and the humor. =)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

D: Why would you make this? It's like a nightmare.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Thanks for the nightmares.

The animations are quite awesome, but the gameplay is a little too simple to be really fun. But I guess the shock value compensates for it.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Uah! Very good! Thank you for that!

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Now I'm scared to go to the dentist thanks!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Oh man, my teeth feel super weird (see: scared) after playing this.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Oh my god, why was i laughing so hard? I probably should go see a doctor (but sure not to denstist). I mean that scream (when you are pullig out teeth is just so funny, without that game probably would be more disturbing). Great game and made in such short time? Whoaw man, just wow.

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

This was so much fun! Seriously, for something made in 5 hours, this is great. It is quite simple, sure, but also very effective. Graphics are great. I like it.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Creepy, but I loved the mechanic. No win condition, but I guess nobody really wins when it comes to pulling teeth

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Oh God! So disturbing (in a good way haha)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Hahaha my girlfriend couldn't look at this while i was playing... Funny concept, and very cool visuals !

Gornova says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

disturbing, really :(

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Cool creepy little game but the lack of challenge and progression is kinda sad. Would be nice to see that taken further.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I'm getting the creeps when I pull :S:S:S

Very interesting concept, well done!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Hhahaha, this is hilarious :D Well done!

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Great interaction design. Gets pretty brutal - definitely had a moment where I was like... What am I doing? Why am I doing this to this man?

Note: There's a bug with the blood - when the head goes up and down the blood doesn't follow sometimes.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Very neat. Not much content but that's okay.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Amazing style. Both the visuals and audio work so well to create an experience that's both funny and disturbing. Nice!

Larzan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Haha, sickest game yet, won't be able to go to the dentist for the next ten years.
Love/Hate it, 5 stars :)
*shudder*

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Quite original concept, but what's the point? Are there any goals or ways to "win"?

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

This is genius.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

Not sure how to rate this :D Why did you create it? OMG!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:53am

Very odd, but I am impressed. I don't see an actual goal for the game, but it was amusing. Nice!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33am

I gave it perfect marks on almost all categories even though I don't think I could stand playing this more than a minute. Awesome (yet physically trying) work !

mchyiporosty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10pm

hoho

andyman404 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:44am

Oh my goodness! OOUUCCCCHHH!!!! This makes me cringe so hard. Great job on the game and use of the themes.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:31am

COOL! my favorite thing was to mash right and down :) I guess it isn't a """game""", but I'm glad you made it anyway and it didn't hurt your ratings

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Wow, this was disturbing... I kind of had to stop playing after a while, too traumatic!

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

This is more of a torture simulator than a game :/

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

what...the...fuck

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Ow.

OddballDave says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:28pm

I played this for far too long. Good stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]