Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SnakeSnakeSnake

by AlexLemminG - Compo Entry

Classic snake game goes 3D (press "A" to turn left and "D" to turn right, double press in menus)
3D opens some interesting challenges. There are 15 levels you could play + randomly generated one. Enjoy!

ps updated(fixed some ui issues)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#317Theme3.92
#387Fun3.28
#397Graphics3.25
#490Mood2.94
#528Overall3.18
#566Innovation3.03

Comments

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Nice take on a classic. played a bit slow on my browser though.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

This game reminds me of that old snake game I used to play when I was little.

Lia-Sae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:10pm

I was a bit non-fazed at the start but as I reached the levels where the snake has to climb on itself I was very, very pleasantly surprised. It got too difficult for my poor Snake skills, but it's very interesting, well done! :D

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Some issues with YES And NO on the "Again" / "NEXt" prompt, but other than that, nice execution of a classic idea. good work.

AlexLamarche says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14am

Like snake but better looking.

REIN1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Great voxel arts !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Feels like i'm back in the 90s but at the same time it doesn't. it works pretty nicely. i also like the different mazes on the classic version. Oh yeah and the Next button doesn't work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

The worm growth looks really cool. You must be generating that mesh at runtime? I had a lot of fun playing. the only thing that bothered me was the floatiness of the camera was a bit disorienting as the snake moves step by step. Maybe, if you are using smoothdamp, you just need to increase the amount of time it takes the camera to catch up so its not so bouncy. The menu is a bit confusing but otherwise its a pretty game and it plays well. Good Show!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

I think this is the first 5-star rating I've given. Enough said. Bravo!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Good game, it was enjoyable. It took me a while to get used to the controls with the static camera view.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Nice made, but it feels a bit like controls arent always accepted?

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:49am

@internetpaulicy: There are just 2 meshes for turned and not turned state of snake. I bet jam is not the best place to do runtime mesh generations;)
@Darkflint: In fact the only time controls are rejected is when turning causes instant death. I guess it's not so native decision I made.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Wow, it comes with random level, so uncommon for a compo entry.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

It's hard to control. Animations looks weird. "Jumping camera" while movement is confusing...

brainstorm says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Good game, liked that you can climb some platform. The snake seems more a slug than a snake :P, but the graphics are great apart o this. Great work for a two days game.

4/5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]