Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Prisoners' Dilemma

by jrc03c - Compo Entry

Prisoners’ Dilemma is a two-player game played across the Internet. It implements the “two-button controls” theme. When two players are present, they are automatically placed in a prison together. The only way that they can communicate with each other is by knocking on the wall that separates their cells (using the K key on the keyboard). They can also attempt to escape (with the D key), but will be killed in the attempt unless they synchronize their attacks and each take down a guard. The difficulty of the game, then, comes from the fact that it’s quite hard to synchronize an attack when you have no means of communication other than knocking on a wall. (NOTE: There's no AI in this game; you really are communicating with another person!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.75
#18Theme4.44
#102Overall3.81
#362Fun3.31
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Ok, this is a really awesome idea! But I think the most people will stay alone for too long, so they decide to escape alone.. An interesting situation.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I could not play because the problem that TheJackiMonster have said but I really found this game genial! It could be an interesting experiment on social communication or something like that.

doitle says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:44pm

This is a really cool concept and great use of the theme. I don't get how it's supposed to work though. Since no one showed up for a while I opened the game in two windows and I tested and could see my knocks so I know that I was connected to myself. I then hit D on both simultaneously and on each screen killed the guard, but then another came on and shot me. I had assumed that the guard coming on screen to kill you was the guard from the other cell but it doesn't seem to work that way. Still cool game.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Really cool game, however I don't know Morse code, so I just bash on the wall until someone else does and then I try to escape, works about 25% of the time!

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06pm

really cool idea!

komilll says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:10pm

That's a really great idea, but unfornutelly even after ~20 tries I didn't manage to escape the prison.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:31pm

This is the most interesting idea I've seen yet, but I could not figure out how to synchronize my escape. I guess thats sort of the fun of it-- figure out how to communicate with someone who you cannot talk with. However, after you get killed the time it takes to retry is too long-- I wanna just start right over again instantly.

Very creative.

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:44pm

amazing. love the art, sound, gameplay, theme, everything. perfect little game. 1,2,3...

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:49am

Oh, this is cool. Reminds me a bit of the way people could communicate in Journey, only more prison-y and pixel-ier. I'm glad I was at least able to take one of the guards down with me.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Wow, very cool idea, and well executed. Just need more people around to play :)

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:54am

Man this is just an incredible idea! i would love to see more of this!

Acuity says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:08pm

I found this really interesting! Also cool that you can hear the next players' knocks after you die.

Jimbly says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 4:28am

Delightful! After killing myself and countless other comrades, I have finally escaped alive.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]