Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Wars Spaceflight

by RetroKids - Compo Entry

To play the game, please start by pressing the green flag twice.
I am nine years old boy from germany and have created this game with Scratch in about four to five hours. I made the music using soundation.com. The graphics have been made in Scratch too.
I am a great Star Wars fan, which is why I put the game into a Star Wars setting.
I have been using both Themes, Two Button Control and Growing.
You control the game using the up and down arrows and the asteroids in the game are growing during gameplay.
Try to get as many points as possible by avoiding the asteroids.
Yours,
Noah

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

matiz982 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:46pm

I'm impressed. I hope you will have a great game dev job :)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Couldn't figure out how to start game until I read description. Was able to score 397 points hiding in the top corner and not moving.

tedling says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57am

Very impressive for your age! Keep going :-)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Nice job! Enjoyed the game!

tanjent says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49am

Keep on rockin'

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:33pm

That's very impressive! I reached 483 points on my best try. I wanted to make it to the end but wasn't able to.
Keep doing what you do!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:05am

Impressive for something made so quickly. Keep at it!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Gut gemacht! ;)
It's rare to see games made in scratch for LD, and this one is done very well. My only problem was that I could glide my ship to the bottom of the screen and just sit there, dodging all of the asteroids. The spaceship easter egg was an awesome addition too.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

Sound is nice and art is cool. A smoother spaceship movement would have enhanced the gameplay, but other than that, well done !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:57am

keep it up - good first game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]