Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tree

by Team Tree - Jam Entry

Tree is a relaxing and interactive experience for one or two players.

They guide the growth of two boughs from the same tree over the rhythm of a carrying music. Along the way, the players can grab different energy beads to make the tree evolve and change its global appearance.

We truly hope you'll enjoy your trip through your own creativity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.89
Mood(Jam)4.53
#7Theme(Jam)4.63
#10Audio(Jam)4.42
#67Innovation(Jam)3.89
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#421Fun(Jam)3.26
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

I only played this game to see the art and listen the music xD
I don't know if I was supposed to do something specific.
The concept itself is interesting.
5 stars for artists :D

Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Very pretty!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Amazing game !
The graphics are awesome, and it's a total pleasure to see our tree growing :) The music is really cool too !
You should have done a feature to get an image of our tree in the end ;)
You did a good job guys !

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Like Meta-link said a image of the tree would have been lovly!
I wanted to play it since I saw a update post on the main side :D Worth the wait! 5/5 Graphics 5/5 Audio

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

This is awesome!

Team Tree says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! :)

If you play long enough (a few minutes) you'll finally have an overview of your tree, so you can do a screenshot!

Garazbolg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38am

Really pretty and all, had a great time trying this game. Also I think music could have beend a bit more relaxing.

Other then that : Good job guys

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19pm

I've never seen water paintings in an LD game. Very nice!
You have also made an very beautiful music track. One can't be the best on all categories, but on Graphics and Audio you are great.

Good Job Team Tree.

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Beautiful graphics and the two player mode is great!
Congratulations!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Beautiful!
I like the view of the entire tree at end, and how you handle 2 players with the zoom.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]