Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Multi-Snake-Arcade

by JonathonDHart - Compo Entry

This is my entry for my first Ludum Dare. I tried to use both themes. Two Button Controls means that you can only rotate your base left and right. Growing as in the snake grows out of the base.

It is a 4 Player multiplayer or single player with AI. It works fully on desktop but it was designed for big tablets or table top touchscreen(See: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vlc0wld22by83ah/TouchTable.jpg?dl=0). [The game would have just have 2 buttons as touch controls per corner]. In the menu you can toggle each player as a human or AI.

In the game you basically try to destroy the enemy bases by using your snakes without dying yourself. There are 3 types of snakes, they are:

Basic snakes: They just wander around. (You can only grow these by default)
Defensive snakes: They wander around in your corner.
Aggressive snakes: They attack an enemy base at random.

There are power ups (the purple circles with letters in them). Any snake can pick one up and you can of course shoot towards these powerups. They are:

A: Grow 3 [a]ggressive snakes.
D: Grow 3 [d]efensive snakes.
M: Grow [m]ultiple (4) normal snakes at half regular snake growing intervals.
B: [B]omb/Destroy all enemy snakes in your corner.

You also have a nub... in the direction where you grow your snakes... this can also be used to repel enemy snakes.

I think that is everything. Enjoy :)

Other Stuff:
-Made with Unity.
-Used UnitySteer (https://github.com/ricardojmendez/UnitySteer)
-Used Game Jam Menu Template (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/40465)

I haven't tested the Mac/Linux builds... please tell me if they work..

I have updated all ports and the source of the game after deadline as per the rules with fixes.
Fixes:
1) Blue and Green AI works.
2) Text is no longer blurry.
3) Game name consistent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#238Innovation3.56
#309Humor2.75
#444Mood3.00
#468Theme3.75
#509Fun3.12
#625Overall3.07
#749Graphics2.56

Comments

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Really cool! The tactics around getting the upgrades are interesting, and it's really cool when you get a bunch of your snakes filling up the screen at once. It was kind of annoying that my snakes seemed to steer away from getting upgrades a lot of the time, though.

Played on Mac, btw, and it works fine.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Nice game! I think Mrjorts told you what i thought. Only one thing: nice dude :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Interesting. I think that I don't understand all about the gameplay, but the concept seems outside the ordinary. Maybe with more time, you could do a tutorial - and other aesthetic. Thank you ++

RPGghut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Great tactical game, it was fun trying to defend yourself while trying to get power ups and then trying to win.

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Took me a few tries, but I think I get it now. It's a pretty cool game that I imagine would be a lot more fun with other people. Only complaint is I wish there was a quick restart so I don't have to wait for the AI to finish.

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

quite innovative !

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

It's a pretty interesting game that could have been improved with a little bit of love (graphics, "feel", tutorial), but was entertaining enough. However, loading it fullscreen cut off half of it for me

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I won, but I still don't really know what is going on. 3D graphics are unnecessary in this kind of game I think.

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Chaotic but quite fun, would love to see this developed in a more polished version

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

Cool concept, although it took me some time to understand what was going on. The main menu could use some work. I also wish the basic snakes wouldn't change direction because it makes it harder to aim for the powerups.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Too bad, the OS X application won't start.

Squid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Fun game. Needs a restart button though.

chrissou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Cool game!

I had to install these libraries on Linux ubuntu:
aptitude install libxcursor-dev # or maybe just needed `libxcursor`
aptitude install libxrandr2:i386

shrapx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50am

i like the options in this game, though it seems quite highly luck based, the way the balls turn. Its no big deal but i am curious what in this game takes the 100MB+ size. good compo work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]