Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beetle Thomas

by NuggetTeam - Jam Entry

You're Thomas the Beetle!
Roll down your ball of dung in order to feed your family!
But it'll not be that easy! Your way down is infested with enemies and traps, to avoid them, you just have to resize your ball of dung.

Controls:
X to make the ball larger.
Z to make it smaller
This game was made in less than 72h to participate in the #Ludumdare #LDJAM jam. Be sure to vote us! #LDJAM

Here's the team:

Imjeax -> Music http://gamejolt.com/profile/imjeax/1057268

Joanrelos -> Programming http://gamejolt.com/profile/joanrelos/47900

Matla -> Art http://gamejolt.com/profile/matlahvi/1083672

Ana -> Art http://gamejolt.com/profile/anagf/123159

Xuso -> Art http://gamejolt.com/profile/xuso74/1083731

Iris -> Art
Fernando -> Art
Jorge "RGC"-> Art, Character

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#132Humor(Jam)3.57
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#313Audio(Jam)3.38
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58

Comments

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:31pm

This game is really awesome ! the graphics, the theme and the Idea ^^

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

simple and fun game, the graphics are good, i really enjoyed, nice work!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Pretty tough, and relies a little bit heavily on memorization since there's not quite enough time to react to stuff, but very well done otherwise!

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Simple and fun! Two extra buttons for the Menu :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great art and neat idea! I did find it a little unclear at times how a particular obstacle would affect your dung (whether you needed to be big or small to pass it). great job!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great idea! and good work incorporating both themes!

I've always to know what it was like to live the life of a dung beetle, and now I know! well done!

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

21.869! Just can't seem to get past that stump just beyond the new terrain. Always a bit too small.

This entry does much better on meeting the theme than my beetle! :D

Here is what I liked:
The parallax background, it's beautiful. The foreground terrain could really do with a similarly calm style to make the other objects pop out even more.
The kawaii beetle sprites, a nice over the top combination.
The puddle warning sign, really useful.

I've had a lot of trouble gauging how large the ball needs to be for the ground obstacles. Just fitting below stuff overhead was easy enough, but how large exactly do I need to be to get over a stump? A fix would be making the exact height of all ground obstacles really obvious and requiring the ball to be at least twice as high (rotational axis being above the height it has to get over). Because the height of overhead obstacles *is* really obvious, which makes them easy to get past. This would mean you'd have to drop the puddles/holes or make their interactions a little more dynamic (perfectly getting stuck in the hole or simply losing size while moving over a puddle instead of breaking for example).
Some simple visual true/false indicator of whether you will get past the next obstacle at your current size would do as well (you can be subtle about that by for example making the beetles expression look worried if you won't make it and normal/calm if you will).

I also wish there was either some way to manually speed up, so you can get past the early section you already know quickly (hold both buttons perhaps), or instead making the obstacles random/different every time. I stopped going for a higher score because replaying the beginning got boring.

And it would've helped if the story/description was in game additionally to some sort of progress indicator. Had I known how close I got to feeding the family I might not have given up.

Last thing: qwertz keyboards. They exist and I'd like you to never again use the all too common XZ button combination without thinking about those.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Rather difficult game, seeing as there's no clear indicator on what's what... Otherwise, it looks nice.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06am

lol, cool game, very fun. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:51am

Good idea and combining of two buttons and growing! Hard a little but it's not a big problem

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Neat Game, like the music.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:10pm

I love the graphics and the theme/concept was really good as well! Fantastic overall! Great stuff :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]