Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rumble

by jarrrgh - Compo Entry

Super simple and super exciting two player boxing rumble. Only thing growing in this game is your ego. The game is aimed for touch devices, but can be played in web player with left and right arrow buttons.

Originally the boxing characters had faces of Jari "Bull" Mentula and Toni "Viikinki" Halme, but I redrew the faces too just to be on the safe. You can still play the special Bull vs Viikinki Boxing Night Edition here http://bit.ly/1SWjK1j.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#102Humor3.47
#362Fun3.31
#413Innovation3.25
#423Audio2.75
#514Theme3.69
#515Graphics3.03
#589Mood2.81
#658Overall3.03

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Kkkkkk

Arowx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

LOL Well done.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Bloody hard to control, but otherwise fun!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09pm

It´s a bit confusing to play both boxers and the audio is for my taste a bit disturbing, missing a option to mute it. But overall well done.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Cool idea.. I have never thought about making a multiplayer game with two buttons.. :D

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I was confused as well when trying to find out who of them I control - and it was both! :-) Maybe you can improve it in a way that you control two rags of one boxer instead. That could be really challenging!

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I quite like it, took me a few ticks to work out the arms had nothing to do with me though!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Really funny game! Smart idea, played with my friend and we had quite a laugh. Good job

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:47pm

This is... amusing. :D Plays kind of like thumb wrestling but with cool music.:D

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:46am

Fun and silly, but a little hard to control.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:51am

Catchy music. Would be more fun with another person to verse ahaha.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08am

Yeah, I think the game is made to be played with a friend... But overall, this is funny concept and it totally fits the "2 buttons" theme. The audio is a bit irritating to me, but apart from that, nice work!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Ok, I played this on the web and by myself... and I was too confused by the controls.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice and simple two player game that fits the theme well. Reminds me of those small boxing games you used to get as a kid. Nice work! :)

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

LOL why do they have one arm and one leg :) Fun game though.

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:47am

LOL. Your game is simple but not bugged nice job !

Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Haha, it's kinda like Rock 'Em Sock 'Em.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]