Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chompatron Saves The World

by Team Chompatron - Jam Entry

In the future...only one man can save the world. AND THAT MAN....ISN'T A MAN. ITS A ROBOT. Chompatron 3000. Your mission is to collect blood and organs to save the planet...by killing as many organ donors as you can. Because...They have...organs and stuff.

And you GROW THE MORE ORGANS YOU EAT! Good luck, and keep on chompin!

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move. E to grab. Q to hit.
When grabbing: E to eat, W to throw, Q to slam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#108Humor(Jam)3.67
#133Audio(Jam)3.78
#260Fun(Jam)3.49
#480Graphics(Jam)3.53
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#874Innovation(Jam)2.57
#971Theme(Jam)2.88

Comments

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39am

An really fun idea. However i found it didn't translate enough, It came to just button mashing eventually. It lost some of the art style after a while. The messages floating up did make me smile though. Good Luck!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39am

Neat game. I liked the voiceover guy, he reminds me of a friend of mine who does equally dramatic voiceovers.

I did eventually get the hang of the game, but I found the best strategy was to just grab and then body slam everything in sight; I'm not sure how you're determining who is "too damn crunchy" but it seems like I only went for a little bit before humans became inedible.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41am

Yum, organs and stuff. Very fun. The only issue I had was the hit boxed for picking up stuff was a little wonky.

h.attila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:42am

This might very well be my favorite entry yet. :) I was giggling like an idiot as soon as the intro started and then I mowed through the game with a stupid grin on my face. Love the over-the-top announcer, the exaggerated effects you cause with every move and all this - admittedly juvenile - humor. Very well presented, delightfully offensive, all around fun.

intXparts says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50am

Awesome work! The sound effects were amazing. The intro dialog had me cracking up. The graphics brought me back to turtles in time for the SNES.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09am

The voice overs are easily the best part, but it's a pretty fun game overall. Good work!

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

Hilarious concept, and executed well. Controls were a bit loose though.

argowen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

My only thought was I got the impression I'd be able to move up the road however I can see that being an issue with only two button. Overall was fun like robot-wars but against people LOL

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:45am

It was good I really liked the art, and the music was catchy. The gameplay wasn't the best I never really understood what was happening as it wasn't explained very well. I also thought the voice was funny. Overall it was a nice game.

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47am

Interesting idea, nice graphics. The voice over is well done. Really cool :)

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

ha-ha, really awesome!

sraboy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14am

Definitely a fun "pass the time" kind of casual game and pretty awesome for a weekend worth of work.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

Fun game! Really liked the narration every time I did something. Wish the music looped a little more nicely.

pkenney says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:53am

Hahaha was that a backpack jar filling with blood?

That was some crazy action, nice work. Sound effects and splatter were great.

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:53am

Funny game, I really dug the art and music.

Body slam seems to be the dominant strategy.
I found at level 2 I was take too much damage that I couldn't manage to level up to three.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:57am

Fun little beat em up. Love the humor. It eventually got a bit grindy. Good jam game overall.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50am

Fun game but becomes repetitive fast. Can't see connection with theme.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31am

Nice game, it got away from the theme.

Baransu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55am

AWESOMEEEE...!!! :D

WitchLake says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05am

This game is gore and fun. But I don't really find the theme! Nive work!

RadStar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58pm

a bit repetitive but nice art and voiceover

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36pm

i like the fast paced gameplay, the voice over hillarious!, a bit grindy but satisfying with blood splatter all over the place!
but somehow the graphic not put together quite well tbh, its like the road, the enemy, the robot and building itself each got different style and not complemented each other, but its probably just me :)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice game. Enjoyed the audio and graphics, but kept encountering a strange bug that prevented me from grabbing or hitting which ended my runs. Also was rather confused regarding the controls at the start - For a while I wasn't aware that I had to hit enemies a few times before I could eat them. I'd also prefer to be able to use W A S D since it is right next to Q / E.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Well, a solid entry of the button smashing destruction genre I totally didn't make it up just now.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:31pm

[Lazarus-omin from Creative Sectors]:
Whoa, what a mindless gore-fest! That's just the way I like it! :D

Enjoyed your work, the humor is gorgeous, that concept is crazy, and the voice-over just enhances the mood. Good job, I'm still smiling!

However, things were happening so fast, that in the beginning I just kinda' mashed the buttons, without a strategy. It took some time to learn how this stuff works. Bodyslam is a real saviour. After a while, the game becomes repetitive, but with a beat 'em up style level design, this could become something special I think.

Any plans on polishing it up a notch?

Anyways, congrats' on the game, keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]