Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Factory

by The Glorious Oysters - Jam Entry

Monster Factory is a game in which you have to construct the best (you guessed it) Monster Factory in order to defend your gate.

Buy some conveyor belt to move your monster, some generator to spawn more monster and some amazing power-ups to grow your monsters and make them stronger!

Manage your gold and protect your gate to stay alive and destroy as many puny humans as you can!


!!!!!!!!!!! WARNING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The game seems to not work on firefox (you can't click on the button) so try it in chrome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#226Innovation(Jam)3.54
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#361Humor(Jam)2.91
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#452Audio(Jam)3.14
#560Graphics(Jam)3.36
#860Theme(Jam)3.18

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

There are a lot of these sort of browser games on various flash portals, but I don't think I've ever seen one where you make the monsters ahead of time and teleport them in so that is fairly novel. Everything in the game seems to work and it feels pretty polished. The unfortunate thing is there doesn't seem to be anything else once you earn enough money to push back the humans. I just flooded the bottom screen with yellow monsters. Pretty good for 48 hours. It could probably be fully fleshed out into a successful game and put up on Kongregate or Armor Games.

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Cool game but after you get two streams of monsters it becomes trivial, but great idea, maybe, if you want, polish it in the future :3

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Really liked the building part, unfortunately humans are very quickly become overwhelmed with your unending stream of monsters.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

Not able to run the web build, I click the start button and nothing happens. :(

Bamboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

The start is difficult.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54am

It's a very cool concept and a unique idea. The game could do with a bit more variety with enemies and units. Definitely has potential though!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56am

I am impressed! This is very creative of you and I'll give you a nice score for that. I had very fun playing this, and I'd actually love a finished version of this. I love the cute art as well.

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Really enjoyed this. Creation with purpose is always great in a game. Started to wonder about how you could implement logic gates using these components. If you get to that point, then you could have something incredible on your hands. Unfortunately the entire interface becomes quote unresponsive later into the game, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Good job

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20pm

It doesn't really fit the theme, but it's really a fun game! A pretty solid and original reverse tower defense. Too bad we can't build other portals, or there's no other levels. You have a really good base for a great success!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01am

Nice game, it took me some time to figure out how it works, at first I thought the arrows where to move over the grid for placing an item. nice graphics and audio. good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Interesting concept. This could be fleshed out into a much more in depth tower defense game, for sure.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Makes for a fun browser game, and a good starting concept for fleshing out into something more.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

My score 38250! Wuhu! I really enjoyed this game! And like other people mentioned before it's a very nice candidate to become a fully fleshed game! I can already imagine power Ups, different Growing combinations, different cauldrons, etc! It could be awesomee!! Keep up the supergood work!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I loved playing this! Its very fun, but in my eyes it has two substantial problems:
-Its quite hard to get the factory running in the beginning
-When you have 7 spawners, a monster goes through the portal on each step, so the game is basically over ;)

I think it would be even more fun, if you would add more factory components and maybe a smooth moving system. All in all great work so far!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Nice game, the balancing made the game really hard but it was fun to play.
Good job.

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Quite charming.
If I had the ability to turn and move elements already in place I could imagine myself playing this game everyday on my morning commute.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Wow! Good and addictive time killer! Must be extended (more factory details, better controls, more foes) and implement for mobiles!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:32am

I like the concept of generating monster and send them in conveyor belt.
But I think the beginning is too difficult to start with that money(maybe is the price of building makes it hard).

tc4mpbell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Interesting! I was really confused at first with controls, which is my silliness, I'm sure. <.< But yes, despite my failings, well done :).

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Good game, I like the music and graphics

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:02am

pretty cool game - like the idea alot - nice job

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Fun game! Good art and idea!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Wow, I love this idea! I want to see this turned into a full game-- I'd play it! I think it could use a little more obvious signal that your spawns are being blocked, since that turned out to be important to the factory design but it took me a while to notice. Also a restart button. Otherwise this is awesome!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Good enough to 48h. Also like the ingame graphics. Shame its a little repetitive but good overal work.

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:05pm

It's hard to play. But there is a new concept maybe

Switchiers says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I like the idea, the game is good and well realized, very funny entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]