Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snakes On A Continuous Plane

by zesterer - Compo Entry

Snakes On A Continuous Plane is a game that harks back to the days of mobile Snake.Unlike the original, Snakes can now travel in any direction.

The game can be played by up to 6 people at a time. Power-ups give you powers such as the ability to each the tails of your opponents and a speed boost to more easily beat your enemies.

All code is free and open-source under GPL2. The game is written 100% in C++, using only the open-source SFML library for rendering.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Cool game! I like the graphics.

In my first playthrough, I ate a bunch of power-ups and was surprised when my character died upon hitting an opponent's tail. The gameplay tension is pretty fun.

The red, white, and blue menu options were confusing - it took me awhile to realize that the selected option was white.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Good game, fun

modenv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Only tried it solo, but feels like a very solid version of multi-player snake. Tight controls, different colors of the pick ups(giving each player a goal, but can mess up others round by taking theirs pick ups) and short rounds boosting competition. I also like the tail animation.

Will try playing it again with a friend :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Love this, so much fun. Deserves extra credit as well for being a compo entry. Make sure you grab a friend or two before giving it a go.

Roffe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Very nice with the multiplayer feature! The solo play seems quite hard to loose, but good to have the option. Simple and fun with the power ups. Good job :)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44pm

These snakes are *so* cute. Love the way they wiggle around, animation is incredible (also seeing the apple in the gullet!). I also love the name. Feel like it could really shine with some audio.

zesterer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I'm tempted to spend a few days smartening everything up, altering the colours and building a proper AI such that it becomes a proper game in it's own right.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:59am

This is really nice! Plays like a mix between Snake and Achtung, die Kurve! Really digging this concept, especially for multiplayer.
Also kudos from me for going with C++ and SFML :)

For the Linux build I had to move the binary into a subdirectory manually as it was looking for data in ../data.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:29pm

BLUE PELLETS OP!

I had fun playing with a friend :) The snake animation is very satisfying when the snakes get longer.

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:33pm

That was really cool. A nice twist on an old classic!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Surprisingly fun, can't say it's a new concept (it's snake) but the animation and general bounciness of it really makes this stand out, good fun! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Pretty cool! Would be even better if the travel speed gradually increases to prevent games lasting forever, especially with red powerups essentially resetting snake length.

Acuity says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Definitely fit's the theme. The red buff seems overpowered, and can reset the game back to the start state.

SamH says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Not much eye candy in there, but gameplay is solid, movement is smooth, you stick to the themes… you focused on the important stuff. I could only convince one person to try it with me, so I have no idea how 3+ player mode is, but it sounds like it could be fun. Kudos for having an IA, too, even if it’s easy to trick.

Also thanks for having a Linux build, even though it crashes immediately on my machine :) So thanks for providing the source, too. Note that there is a typo in CMakeLists.txt, the “cmake_modules” should actually be “cmake-modules”.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]