Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Save The Planet - Plant Trees

by ryofougere - Jam Entry

The world is in a bad situation with the climate change and all the pollution we did.

We need to hurry and plant trees to let nature balance the planet again !

But maybe...

..it's too late

dash on buttons to make grow a tree before the timer reach zero!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Glad to see you got it working! :)

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

EARTH EXPLODED

ryofougere says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32pm

thank you !!!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55pm

that was

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

That was quite the finger workout! :)

ryofougere says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31am

haha yes, not easy to save the planet in time, quite a rush ^^
I wander until wich level it is humanly possible to make grows this tree haha
Tell me here until wich level you did it guys !

kmakai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:55am

Nice job! Got up to level four before losing all control of my fingers. The art was nice, and the music was a great compliment for this style of game.

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

That's really hard and it seems in the end there is no way around losing the planet. I wish it wouldn't be hopeless and there would be a chance to save the planet.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Button-mashing is not the most fun activity in the world but the presentation is nice and the tree growing images are well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]