Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Thorn - The Dreamer

by greenscreen - Compo Entry

Use "A" and "D" to help the thorn get to the heaven. Also collect coins. After all there might be shops in heaven :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Audio3.65
#125Theme4.14
#178Graphics3.77
#210Mood3.40
#559Overall3.14
#586Fun3.00
#588Humor2.12
#692Innovation2.77
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Could have used a little bit more polish but the idea is good. I think the best thing about this game is the graphics. (Though the text feels a bit low res) Gameplay feels a bit simple since the difficulty stays the same. (Or I suck and didn't get far enough for it to change :p )

Would have been nice if coins couldn't spawn inside a cloud. For the score I would recommend to always make a highscore display. At the moment it's kinda hard to know your best run. (+maybe add distance to score)

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Nice game! The music fits the game well and creates a peaceful mood. I second Decentsauce's comment on how some coins spawn inside clouds and an increasing difficulty, but overall very well done :)

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

The music was really good, and I liked the way you could keep going at an angle, rather than moving left and right statically.

I gave the graphics a 5 because, for some reason, this was the first time 3D graphics really made me feel like WebGL was making cool new things. I know that sounds a little silly, but the bright colours and pacing just felt right. I'd love to see this more polished at a later date.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Really fun game! Like the Nintendo-ishness

mard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Nice game, makes me think of Grow Home :)
Simple gameplay, but fun, and the graphics (excluding the text) are beatyful. The stalk seems kinda buggy sometimes, but overall great work :)

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:23am

To make the font look better in unity. Increase the font size instead on scaling the object. Other than the text the game looks really beautiful

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It is better to make this game in 1:1 screen.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Good idea, I wish you could turn at harder angles. The music was really good.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Its so hard. But music is cool.

Tacohej says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Good job combining both themes. Would be nice with some changes to the restarting of the game, like one klick only and not reseting the audio (nice song btw).

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Love the music and art. Has a really nice feel to it. I've played a couple like this now and this really pulls off the idea nicely.

kmakai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:16am

Fun! Great use of both themes, I really liked the visuals and especially the music. Good job!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:31am

The game is quite simple but very challenging, I think the turning speed could be a bit faster to make avoiding obstacles less difficult. The music is very zen and calming, give a nice feel to the game. Graphics is good as well, very bright and colorful, I liked it. The text was a bit distorted though.

Yazara says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:51am

Cool concept, some more balancing is needed though.
Sometimes it's really hard to evade obstacles since you change directions too slowly.
And a tip to make the text less blurry: scale the UI down and increase the font size ;)

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:54am

Really liked the music and mood, very light-hearted and relaxing. Despite being quite slow for a 'runner' it was really tough due to the balance of cloud positioning and the turning speed.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I love the happy mood and how you used both themes at once!

-bob

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:58pm

This is a really cool game, and i love how you used both themes. however, this does technically break one of the rules of a compo entry. "I created all of the Art, Sound and Music myself" yet you credited jukedeck.com. the music is very fitting though, however, scince you credited the website, i don't think you made the music. if this is the case, you can always change your entry to a jam, and mention in the description that you made it solo in 48 hours. lots of people do that when they don't have the time to make good music. however, i am definitely glad you didn't leave your game without music. it really helped set the mood.

Garris says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:29pm

I love the music in this game, and the use of theme was good! I do wish the plant would have been a little quicker to respond to the commands it was given for moving in either direction, but it was fun anyway. Nice job :)

greenscreen says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:51pm

@Blobo
I did not break the rule.
"Content generators are allowed. In fact, they’re encouraged. sfxr, the popular sound effect generator was originally created for Ludum Dare."
You can check it in the rules :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]