Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Mystery of the 2 Buttons

by ZONC - Jam Entry

"There are two big red buttons. What are they for? Well... press to find out!"

This game consists of 5 rooms with different puzzles, all have to be solved with only two buttons to control. It is our first bigger game with own 3D models, so the textures and models are not always as good as we would wish ;)

Nevertheless, we hope you have fun solving and rating our game.


Puzzles are sometimes a bit hard, but they are solvable! Sound is necessary at some point.
-----
Look with Mouse
Click a button with left mouse button
-----

Known issue(s):
- There is no special ending (sorry). But if the ring in the middle is fully illuminated you have mastered the game.
- Textures may glitch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#314Innovation(Jam)3.41
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#699Graphics(Jam)3.09
#797Mood(Jam)2.79
#872Fun(Jam)2.68
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

cant play on mac.

SovietBear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

Cool concept, but no actual game play (Can't get passed blue circle)

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

Neat game.
I got really frustrated at the bridge part. A long, trial and error puzzle isn't really a puzzle, it's just frustrating to me :(

Nice music and graphics.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice game, crosshair appeared on the right of the screen for some reason. I liked the puzzles.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

Cool idea. Second one is a bit hard. Could use some more sound/ambience, esp. footsteps and "death" sound. Right on with the theme use.

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Hey,
we fixed the problem with the mac build, should work now.
For the bridge puzzle, sound is necessary! ;)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

I like clever puzzle games, and there certainly are some cleverness which has been squeezed out of the two button concept. Sometimes verging on frustrating though.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

cannot continue after bridge puzzle, two buttons in room following give no feedback. besides that: creative puzzles!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37pm

interesting just needs some puzzle work for now it's just try and try until you hit it right

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:52am

Mac build was zipped incorrectly, cant open it to play the game

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:32pm

The Mac build is ruined, there are copies of all the fixed app directories with different files. Please re-export and just zip. Also, don't include your .pdb files in your distribution, they are only used for development and are enormous.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]