Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Frantic Farming

by Fidrik - Jam Entry

Play here - http://fidrik.itch.io/frantic-farming

A fast paced farming game where the player must plant, grow and harvest crops. By harvesting crops, the player gains money which can be spent on extra seeds and supplies.

The player must keep their crops sufficiently watered and stop disease outbreaks before they can spread, by using their specialized farming cannon that can spray both water and "plague-away".

The farming cannon only has a limited supply of water and "plague-away" but it can be refilled. Water is free, but extra "plague-away" must be purchased.

The aim of the game is for the player to generate as much money as possible before the time limit ends.

- Controls -

WASD - Movement
Left mouse click - Water Cannon
Right mouse click - 'Plague-Away' Cannon
E - Interact
1-3 - Select seed type
T - Plant currently selected seed
R - Place Sprinkler
Esc - Unlock mouse


Had to turn shadows off due to a bug in which the shadows were showing through objects, if anyone knows the fix for this can you send a message. Thanks.

This was made by a team of two, its our first time doing Ludum dare and we ran into some issues and bugs near the end so there might be some in the game. Sorry about that. It was fun though, and we learned a lot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#362Overall(Jam)3.48
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Great growing simulator! I'd recommend consolidating the controls a little bit. Maybe E is context sensitive and lets you interact, plant or place sprinklers depending on what you're looking at? The game looks and sounds great though. Good job!

Fidrik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Thanks Garris!

Jajo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Quite good. Maybe some music next time.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Good use of assets to create a new game. Mechanics worked well and hunting for the right control actually kind of fit the name. Would be fun if stuff happened 2x/3x as fast with a lot of materials all over the area growing at once to really go for the frantic part. Nice!

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I love it ! great job !

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Nice one, well done ! love to see my plants growing, back to real live i have to check my real garden ;)

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Good idea!

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Great concept! Really fun to play.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

The controlls were a bit off and i´m missing music in my little garden :) Sometimes stuff died, even if i was sure to water them enough... just like in my living room.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice concept. Its fun to try and optimize your processes to get the best possible score. I had some problems actually getting the game to realize which plants I was trying to water though.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Cool Thanks for the grate game.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

T to plant seeds? bit of a stretch could use a different binding.

Enjoyable game for such a simple one though.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34am

Not my type of game but I can see the potential here. It would be great if there was some more feedback from your plants... I guess that's unrealistic but it would do wonders to help the player in-game :D

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:39pm

I love it

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Wow nice design and implementation, that's a lot to get done for a jam! You had models, various systems, an economy, a shop, sounds... nice work!

Namek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Graphics style is awesome. Some anti-aliasing would made it a lot cooler. I don't like those little mountains, could be some nice landscape.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]