Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Icare's Balloon

by GwakamoleStudio - Jam Entry

Important : The windows version is the best one as the web player has some issues with sprites.

Icare's Balloon will test your reflexes as you will have to avoid obstacles to get to the end of each level - available from the central hub. Grab the stars to manage your balloon's size, either to prevent it from bursting or to deflate it and slip through!

Controls: 2 buttons
Go left / go right : left & right arrows (or mouse buttons)
Press left and right at the same time to restart when you die
Pause: Space
Quit: Escape

You will guide the balloon to its freedom.
Explore every levels, save its friends, and you will unlock the portal to fly to the infinite and beyond... Unless another obstacle keeps Icare's Balloon from reaching the ultimate frontier !

Post Jam Update (06/01/2016):
Add Checkpoints
Modify balloon's hitbox
Add button to clear save

Cheat code: Press 'G' 'W' & 'K' to unlock the last level (windows only)

GwakaTeam :

Christelle Chiarelli : Dev
David Yana : Graphic/Dev
Luc Dufau : Dev
Rémi Carbonne : Graphic/Dev
Alexy Laugier : Sound designer

You can join us on https://twitter.com/GwakamoleStudio and http://www.twitch.tv/gwakamolestudio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#407Audio(Jam)3.21
#581Fun(Jam)3.08
#598Humor(Jam)2.52
#656Theme(Jam)3.54
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#719Innovation(Jam)2.83
#848Mood(Jam)2.70
#887Graphics(Jam)2.59

Comments

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31am

Addicting to play. Small improvement idea - when hit an obstacle, I'd made a reminder how to restart the level, not only in the beginning. Or just give a Restart button if lost. Thank you for the fun game.

komjaur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

In webplayer it was very laggy.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very addicting, very awesome game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

@Komjaur : It was the case for one of us too. Didn't know why :(

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Cool idea but slightly more physics based movement would make it feel more than a baloon.
Also if you look away when starting the game you have now idea how to restart or play

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice ideea, graphics and sound, unfortunatelly is a bit buggy, and stuck when i hit the pins wall. I like the colours. Stefan (tyrants.not.found.team)

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Very nice game! Beautiful and calm. Like it a lot!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

I'm all in for difficult games. But I also like it when they're fair. This game is a little too on the difficult side. The control mechanics are good and they feel solid. I think adding checkpoints to this game would have made a huge difference.

It is pretty cool as it is now, but adding checkpoints and improving the graphics will make the game even better!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:18pm

A little difficult for my liking but a good game nevertheless. I really liked the music. Complemented the gameplay a lot.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Fine with the theme, fun & addictive!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Addicting game. :)

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:23am

I enjoyed exploring the map... nice!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:54am

Got about 2 FPS :/

Cosmic5 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:01am

Was really fun, but having to start a section entirely over when you lose was frustrating.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:01pm

A fun arcade game hampered by unforgiving hitboxes.

OwT says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:00pm

At the beggining I was like... 'nah', but then I've found myself playing it for the next 20 minutes. The graphics were nice and clean. Gameplay was difficult yet still pleasant until I had to restart the whole thing. Maybe you would consider adding some checkpoints?

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Great game, lots of content. Would be nice to have some way to speed-up (maybe by pushing both left and right). That would make it less frustrating when you die and got very far, as you could just boost your way back.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]