Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deal With It

by Desperados Studio - Jam Entry

In DEAL WITH IT you are the boss !

Hum in fact you will be the boss if you have the hugest balls !
Cause the road to be the Drug Lord won't be easy !
In fact you'll need to spread your drugs through the entire world and make money grown !

And for this you'll need only two buttons men ! Incredible isn't it ?

Dev note : Saddly we hadn't have time to finish it (it's our first Gamejam and Videogame) so it's normal if it's umbeatable. But don't worry tons of updates will come soon so stay tuned for post JAM versions ;D

If you see bugs or want to make a suggestion (Post Jam Version) feel free to post it on our Trello:

https://trello.com/b/EBgTP6Xn/suggestions.

Update : major bugs corrected, the game is now playable, have fun ;)


/!\ The game can be long to launch & if you have a memory error that's because you have too much tab open, sorry /!\

Theme : Growing & 2 buttons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#305Audio(Jam)3.40
#410Humor(Jam)2.82
#651Graphics(Jam)3.18
#705Innovation(Jam)2.85
#790Mood(Jam)2.80
#799Fun(Jam)2.79
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#975Theme(Jam)2.86

Comments

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14am

Needs a good bit of work honestly. UI is confusing and the game doesn't really do a good job of leading the player anywhere. Keep working and It could be something!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I am Heizenberg)) Good work with business growing!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:02pm

[VideoDog] Thanks for the advises, we have debug the tutorial but yes this version is not perfect ;)

[DrFallos] Thanks :), we are all Heizenberg !

Saivan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:23pm

It seems to have potential, but needs a polish in tutorial.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:47pm

This was quite fun. I love games like this. It's a lot of button mashing though, which makes it a bit annoying to play for a long period of time. Overall, it's decent.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:56pm

[Saivan] Thanks ^^
It will be a post Ludum version with more content and a real tutorial, don't worry :)

[Diventurer] Thanks a lot :)
Yeah for this version you don't have a buy all and get all button and we doesn't had the time to implement the event system and a lot of new features, so stay tuned :D

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Cool game in a pleasant fallaut style, but need to modify.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:11pm

[Tantumgames] Thank you :)
You also have a huge thanks of our graphic artist because you're the first on to notice the reference ^^
Yeah as I said before it will be improved a lot after the Ludum ;)

loxo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Interesting game in an early state. It seems there is a lot of work left. I encountered a few bugs:
- I couldn't start a new game.
- At one time I could buy drugs even when there where 0 left. When I reached the weight limit there where -19 left.
- Another time there was -99 left and I had 110/100 for weight and 1751/1000 for cash.
- I encountered a price of 0.
- Selling drugs takes a long time.

I think it would be easier for the player if the tutorial would be integrated directly into the game.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29pm

It seems like a good idea, but I found it very confusing! It'd be good if you could find a way to teach how to play by holding the player's hand through the first week or something.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:35pm

[loxo] Thanks for the feedback ^^ Yeah it's a really early state you can expect a lot more for future version ;)

I have took note of your buglist, thanks for taking the time to do it :)
Yes totally but we have lake a lot of time to do it, that's why it's so basic (To be precise we only have nearly 35hours to make this game so we must have focus on main features ^^)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:37pm

[Cherishing.Team] Yeah it's exactly the idea I wanted to do for the tutorial, but as I said just before the time wasn't our friend to do it ^^
But it will be done in future version don't worry ;)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:43pm

THis game really needs to have a clear UI, it's to long for the player to handle it properly ! but good work !

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This game was a lot of fun, I was playing for ages. There's definitely a lot of rough edges though, too much clicking required to do things and the prices are sometimes insane.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

[SayRafon] Thank you ^^
Yeah a post-Ludum version will come soon and we have working a lot on it ;)

[randomhuman] We are really glad to hear this, thank you :)
Stay tuned for the next version because we have added a lot of content (and a lot of ergonomic work, like max value selected by default and prices more stable, with max and min for ex) ;)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:54pm

The UI should be simpler, but it's in the right direction.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Unfortunately, I'm no good at this type of game. The graphics are pretty nice, and the background music is good. The writing isn't bad, but has some grammar mistakes. The gameplay idea isn't incredibly original, but still pretty interesting. I like that you took the time to implement a tutorial.

I just didn't get far enough into the game to say much about it.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Shame you didn't have time to finish the terminal and implement some random events because that would have made the game a bit more interesting instead of constantly waiting for the right time to buy/sell your drugs but this was a rather fun entry to play.

Pantoufle says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I broke the game by buying at 0 and selling at max value on the following day.
Other than that, the idea is great and I really liked the music.
Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]