Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

More.

by Acorn - Jam Entry

I set out to make a super pretentious art game. I accidentally made a game that actually means something to me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20am

Huh, so... I haven't a clue what to make of this. It seems like the home is the thing compelling me to drink, but it's odd that the invisible wall pushes you back toward the river as it grows. I just.. I have no idea if I missed some mechanics or something.

Anyway, FYI, for whatever reason the sound_walk audio didn't play for me.

Transmit says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23am

Maybe its above my head, but I'm not too sure what was actually supposed to happen here. Besides jumping in the river and getting the "Ahhh" text I couldn't seem to make anything else happen beside the word "more" occassionally appearing on my screen, and the river getting slightly bigger. Did I miss it out on something?

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23am

Accidental games may be the way to go. Need more use for X button.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32am

Oh no. This game is confusing and scary and a little bit broken, and it totally messed me up. I'm so sorry. I fucked up. Oh god.

more.



On another note, the movement is a kinda broken (it's easy to get stuck if you run up against a wall, and it's possible to run *through* the house from the left). Being able to run underneath the trunks of the trees is kinda weird, as is the text appear beneath the trees as well. I'm not sure if the opening text "Z - Start | X - Drink" showing up repeatedly near the end is intentional, but it feels like a bug.

You might also want to disable the audio voting category, since it seems like your game doesn't have any (that or my setup is somehow broken).

Nevertheless, I think the game delivers its point as intended, so major props for making something actually meaningful.

intXparts says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

Going to take a stab at this. The expanding river is a metaphor for an addiction taking over a person's life and the invisible walls of the addiction prevent them from returning to the life they once had? Solid graphics and animations, I liked the river a lot in particular and the nice push the current gives the player. Thought provoking, I dig it, nice job!

Acorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58am

My sound guy backed out last minute, I didn't realize I was still being judged on the audio and have deselected it so thank you! I will look into the wall collisions, but the house is supposed to propel you left when approached from the other sides. Thank you all for your feedback!

Juin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50am

It's very unclear on what to do.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Lil unclear, but got working in it, the game needs me to spend more time to contemplate it some more, but usually with these pretentious art games is that they end up based in reality somewhere along the line like ye said. I can only interpret stuff as wanting to go home but it depresses the character, pushes him away and gets caught in a cycle, but that may just be me. Needs a bit more polish especially graphically, but could be an interesting theme to explore further in a more fleshed out art game :).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]