Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Call of the Void

by OverHook Games - Jam Entry

Navigate the cold void of space. Hold space to break out the orbit of planets. Use Ctrl to use items found along the way. Exit each level using black hole transportation.

Tips:
You may want to stick around on a starting orbit to gain speed.
Use the off screen indicators to see where you need to travel.

Tools: Photoshop, Audacity, Incredibox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#141Mood(Jam)3.77
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#189Overall(Jam)3.70
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#260Fun(Jam)3.49
#418Theme(Jam)3.78

Comments

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Fun game, but hard to control and master, I like the challenge.

The music is funny, makes me want to stay and enjoy the game ^^

Arowx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Great work. The Gravity did not seem to be very 'realistic', or I would have liked a larger gravity field effect as it could have made the game easier.

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Really good fun game!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I really liked the music.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Great little peace of art. And I loved the music !

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Difficult controls but fun gameplay. The audio/music is good and the graphics are fantastic. Also you could have made the gravity field a bit less effective

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41pm

that was very fun! graphics were lovely, I loved the color scheme and gameplay was pretty solid, nice work!

[ also, was that incredibox music in the background? haha, nice touch :) ]

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Fun game and interesting gameplay but as for me not enought speed)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

Love the graphics and music! Really impressive!

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

It looks really cute and fun, but it's a hard challange! I like the music and the concept! Well done!

TiByte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Maybe a star-filled sky would fit the background

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57pm

The look and feel of the art and movement are quite great.

The player controller could be a little tighter or at least a direction indication would be nice. I found myself being flung long after I told it to "break orbit" or shot in peculiar directions a lot of time.

For three days, It's fantastic. I love the color scheme and the minimalist feel of the visuals.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Really neat concept, but why is there gravity in space?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

A little too hard to control intuitively, but its a solid concept with awesome music and visuals!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really cool idea, great graphics and nice music! It was a little hard to master, but I can see it becoming addictive.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I enjoyed the story at the beginning! Graphics were great also! Gravity seems like it needs some tuning, and maybe a starter weapon so you can use the second button earlier in the gmae.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Lovely game :) the art is very well done. You have a really cool aesthetic locked down. The opening was a great introduction, set the story and idea behind the game really well without going into a ton of exposition. Loved the mechanic. There was a lot of tension being at the whims of gravity, only being able to affect it subtly. Especially when even the smallest action could end in disaster. The music matched the tension while being still being cute and helped make the experience pleasant. One of my favorite moments was when I ran into a sun. I was expecting some explosion or bursting into flames or something dramatic, but instead it made a little ding and he fell apart. I laughed out loud.

Overall great entry Overhook!

p.s. Frolf is up and working now. Thanks for the heads up that something was wrong.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00am

Absolutely lovely! Looks and feels very polished as well!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:16am

A little confusing... and hard to control. Other than that is pretty fun! It looks really good too!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I fun game to play with a high level of polish, really liked the music as well.

disdanes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15am

It was an interesting concept, art seems very clean and the music I just want to keep listening to

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nicely done, good production values. A bit too "trial and error"-ish for my taste though.

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]