Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Astro Cat Saga

by Astro Cat - Jam Entry

This is our cat. Cat is in the box. The box is in the space.

To complete the lvls:
- collect all food
- avoid red and yellow bombs.
- escape from the box through the portal

Use two buttons to rotate square.

Our team, 6 guys: 2 flash-programmer, artist, designers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#292Humor(Jam)3.07
#321Audio(Jam)3.36
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#439Graphics(Jam)3.60
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#677Overall(Jam)3.15
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#783Fun(Jam)2.82

Comments

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

Сool

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

It was really annoying to wait for the input repeat to get fast rotation. Have it instantly rotate whenever you hold down one of the keys. Besides that, I really liked the idea of playing with relative velocity and angular velocity. Pretty fun if you can look past the input issues.

Shon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Perfect^)

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

The controls are a little tricky. For example, I advice you to move when the key arrow are down, not pressed :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I like the game a lot. It looks good and the gameplay is new and refreshing. I feel that the cube could rotate a bit faster however.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

This is really innovative. A minor complaint is that the combination of the negative-ish sound and the red flash made it seem like bouncing on the walls was a bad thing initially.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I liked the concept but there is a problem with the rotation. It is too slow ! Add more speed to the reaction if you want the player to feel free and skilled^^

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I think it might've worked better if the input was a bit more responsive, cause it's a pretty fun concept. What I really enjoyed though was the music and the graphics of the game. It makes it feel a lot more polished.

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Отличная работа! Графончик, и механика свежая! ;)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I think the cube is too slow to rotate, but the concept is not bad and the AstroCat idea is very cool :) good job!

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Awesome game! You could add some difference between the yellow and red bombs.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cute graphics, and nice idea! You did a really nice job =)

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Love the idea and the design, specially the character. It's a bit hard to play if you have to wait so much to be able to rotate the box. But it's still pretty cool :)

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Nice. Only remark is the latence between the input and the rotation of the box. But well done !

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

The concept is very fun, but controls are to hard. add some smoothness to the controls and it will be perfect! ho and the music is cool!

psypol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

hmm could the rotation of the whole square be smoothen up ?
i think it reduces the pleasure of playing

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Super nice. Only problem is there's something wrong with the input. It takes too long to take effect.

Masuno says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Cats. Bombs. Space.

In theory, pretty good--but this still has a lot of bugs that keeps it from being fun to me. It fits the theme well, but I've seen this kinda gameplay before. It's nothing new. But it does throw a unique spin on it--the character is always moving, and you have to use the box to send it how you wanna go. So, once again--this can work well, with some work.

By the way. There's a glitch where the cat can randomly float through the box while it's turning, which instantly leads to Game Over. This should probably be fixed.

CMG says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Slow controls make it a bit too much work, but it's a fun concept!

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:02pm

It reminds me of the sonic 1 bonus stages! It felt a little harsh to me to put bombs straight in your path from level start though, Id have either put them off your initial trajectory or at least let you press a key to begin. Most rounds I hit the first one and couldn't avoid it!

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice music! I think I found a bug - I moved the square and the astrokitty went overboard without a portal, and then the game was over.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:10pm

The concept is alright, but the input feels too rigid.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Reallu fun. A bit difficult to apprehend and the wait for the input is a bit frustrating. But still cool !

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Challenging game that is beautifully polished

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29pm

One of my TOP10, I just wished the controls were a bit more lose. Great graphics, sound and mood.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Cat + space + food = fun :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Good game with a pretty mood. However I think that there is a little problem with the controls. They don't react as well as I hoped when I pressed keys. I feel that the cube could rotate a bit faster however. Overall I like it ++

Ludic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46pm

beautiful graphics, buthave to keep pressing buttons instead of holding it is a bit boring

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Nice game, think the rotation controls could have been a tad more responsive though

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:05am

This was a cute game, but the response time on the box rotation as well as the hit boxes on those bombs made it pretty difficult to win. Once you got used to it, it was easier, but the controls could maybe use some work. I did like the graphics, and the audio! It was a fun game to play!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:05am

Controls seems off. Its very hard to rotate the room quick enough.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:17am

Nice graphics, but the game feels a little buggy. I often went througt the square, and lost myself in space.
But it was fun because I was a cat!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:52am

wow, that was a fun little [and tough!] physics-puzzle game, I really enjoyed it!

art was very nice, sound was good, humor was funny, and overall I think this is a pretty solid entry, nice job :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00am

It was very hard to control, but a good idea and I wish that the controls were better! The rotation should be fluid; it's hard to get things to work otherwise. It looks really nice though, keep working on it! :)

Dalkor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27am

Love the controls even though I suck at them. I'm sure it would be more fun if I could physics lol. Enjoy the feel and the music from the game.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:45am

Thx a lot for feedback! On this jam we don't have enough time to make controls better, solution with slower square rotation save our game from more bugs.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:32pm

very creative concept, funny and cute, well done

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:01pm

The control lack some smoothing but the game is enjoyable, Space is well rendered.

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Cool game :) nice concept and easy to comprehend! Great job!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:06pm

very cute graphics and gameplay
music is positively energetic)
a litle bit more responsive controls- more inertia in cube rotation or speed up astrocat to keep this flow -
5 astrocats from 5 :)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Fun game :D

Akhera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55pm

The concept is good, but the controls really need to be more responsive. Nice music.

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Really good! Had much fun playing this! Most likly the polished game I've seen yet

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15am

Felt so cool beating level 4, woosh, woosh, MEOW!

Chill music, challenging gameplay, clean graphics. Good stuff.

jsmars says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:04am

Nice mechanic and well made game! Only annoyance was that keypress came from key "repeating"

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:03am

really difficult to controll. therefore not fun at all. really 6 people worked on this??? i know i fucked up. but 6 people at the same time? i'm sorry

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Cool game. I sometimes glitched through the sides of the square, and I found it annoying to spawn into a level and immediately crash into mine. Good job nonetheless!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Rotation should be a bit more responsive and a bit faster, but the concept is nice.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Interesting, polished entry.
I glitched couple of times through the corners of the square with the cat falling into infinity (thus dying).
Also the square rotation could be a little bit more responsive (i.e. faster movement, or without the lag after pressing a button).

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I really wanna like this more. But the sticky controls prevent me from doing so. Catchy sound track though! I just can't get into it.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

Great game ;D

3Dog says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:00pm

nice one ^_^ :D

Drauthius says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:14am

I had a strange problem where two background music tracks were playing at the same time, or maybe I just imagined stuff. Anyway, the (two) controls are a bit clunky. You have to hold the control down for a while for it to repeat, which detracts from the flow of the game and any quick reflexes to save the kitty from the bombs. Would have been nice if the kitty grew a bit when eating the food.

kowalski says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:39am

Nice concept and cute aesthetics. The game is a bit difficult to play though and I think I'd personally appreciate if the cube would rotate a little bit faster.

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Maybe the square should go faster. Nevertheless I enjoyed the entry

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Only thing that was slightly annoying was having a bit of input lag while rotating, other than that it was a nice very clever simple idea. Very well done!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:22am

It's a cool idea, just a bit too frustrating to play with the speed of the cube and general unpredictability of the cat.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]