Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Where It Begins

by newbeings - Jam Entry

Controls: Arrow Keys + Space

"Where It Begins" is a short puzzle adventure game.

Hint/Note: There is an "ending" - you'll know you've made it when the screen goes black. We ran out of time to do more than that : )


mickanio and jelly teamin up for our first jam as newbeings.

mickanio (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/mickanio/)
jelly (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/jelly/)
newbeings (http://newbeings.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#35Mood(Jam)4.21
#47Graphics(Jam)4.54
#182Audio(Jam)3.61
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#619Humor(Jam)2.48
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#1062Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

The game is absolutely gorgeous! It has a very lovely hand painted look, and the animations were great! I wasn't quite sure what to do after I gave away my 3 dots to some of the statues. Enjoyed just walked around and looking at the art!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Awesome job guys, you could've fooled me about being new comers. Graphics are excellent.

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

the graphics are really nice, but i couldn't figure out what to do after giving my 3 red orb things to the statues. i walked around a bit and then tried taking my orbs back but somehow i ended up glitching the game and getting stuck in one of the statues lol

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Fantastic Visuals and great intuitive puzzle!
But the end is a bit abrupt and the theme isnt very obvious...

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

A pretty artistic game, but I dont see the connection with the theme it self.

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

These graphics are sooo good.
Really cool idea/game!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17pm

The aesthetic is wonderful, the music sets a great mood-- I wanted to see more of this world... right on! I love the eyeball thing you turn into while swimming. (Wish I could walk as fast as I could swim though)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Great Artwork and Sound Design! I love that main character, very nice design!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

The aesthetic is wonderful, the music sets a great mood-- I wanted to see more of this world... right on! I love the eyeball thing you turn into while swimming. Puzzles were simple but intuitive.

My only gripe: (Wish I could walk as fast as I could swim though)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Looks gorgeous, but I had trouble with the gameplay. It has a lot of potential though!

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Too short and unpolished. But still very beautiful and powerful.

That shape shifter eye and the trees reminded me a lot of ektomarchs work.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

Good graphic, animation and mechanic! great job)

blurryroots says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39am

Amazing atmosphere and cool surreal art style. Serene and mysterious, greatly matched by the soundtrack. Very enjoyable experience. I would have liked, if the energy balls find their way back to you after completing a task.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08pm

beautifull, cool to explore, but i did not understood the purpuse

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

very nice style with interesting designs.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

A very beautiful game! Does a great job setting at setting an athmosphere. A nice entry!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Great game! excellent!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Brilliant visuals, good and fitting sound, not sure what the "Game" is though :/

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Great puzzler. Was relaxing yet enjoyable.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

great graphics and amazing mood, so nice to travel this artistic world but I agree the end could be less abrupt ^^

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:30pm

its ok, good game

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34pm

The graphics are incredible! I really dig the visual style. Gameplay is a little confusing as it is not really clear what the goal is. But walking around in this engrossing mood is interesting in itself.

adriano says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:18am

Hey guys, awesome game! Great mood, beautiful hand-painted look. Took me a second to figure it out, but spent the whole time really enjoying the world you created for me to play in.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:55am

Very nice ambient/graphics and music. Puzzles were simple but i couldnt understand there was a new soul on the middle of island when i placed others. It would be nice if there was an indicator sound. Nice ending. Well done!

SamH says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:32pm

I hope it was as frustrating for you as for us players that the game was unfinished :) Despite the short adventure, the artwork is beautiful and the atmosphere is soothing. There is a Fez feeling to it, if you don’t mind the comparison. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]