Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Survive 120

by flakoflak - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare.
Music is just a loop i had lying around so don't judge it as its not mine.
Press w to go to higher floors or s to go down.
People is not patient they will throw themselves if you don't pick them fast.
The goal is to have a positive score at the end..
characters have a number over their heads indicating where they want to go.

Just smile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#522Humor(Jam)2.64
#702Innovation(Jam)2.86
#810Theme(Jam)3.29
#939Fun(Jam)2.57
#941Mood(Jam)2.42
#1044Overall(Jam)2.58

Comments

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Cannot get this to run. The download opens a local webpage but the game does not load. Would like to play it though. Looks neat.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Hi, link should take you to a google drive folder download the zip file, extract, and open the index.html file. Takes a little bit to load, but should work.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

If you want to play this do as flakoflak says, however I don't think Chrome supports playing Unity WebGl locally, so try it with FireFox.

As for the game interesting, but were people so impatient to get down they jumped? Also about 90% of the people seem to want to go to floor 1, although I guess that a given since people are jumping off the building, I'd probably want to get out of there too.

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Couldn't get it to go either. Downloaded whole thing and extracted them but when I could clicked the index file nothing opened. I am on a Mac though, does that matter?

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Haha that was pretty fun. Controls are a bit buggy when the elevator doesn't stop at the floors but somewhere in between. I didn't win.. I actually lost pretty bad. Still fun to play.

zguba says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

So game bug at some point and there are only people that wants to be taken to floor 1 :/

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I think this could be a good game if the people just weren't so impatient, and you can see each floor. But I definitely see it being a sushi-rush type game with some polishing.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04pm

haha, yeah as some of you noticed most of the people is going to first floor that's how usually happens, when you come from upper floors, maybe i should put more people on the first floor going up. everyone going to first floor makes it easier to bring them all together. :P thanks for playing.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Could not get this to run at all, using Firefox. Downloaded, opened up HTML file, threw an error at me saying something about Unity being unable to allocate memory.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

I can't get this to run (in Chrome on Linux). Sorry!

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

Nice one! Very innovative. The human voice sound effects and increasing speed of the music (was I imagining that?) made you feel rushed. Good job

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

Works on my mac, Amazing game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Innovation 5/5 :D nice game i liked it

euske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:37am

This game is pretty brutal. Is this Trump Tower?

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09pm

haha, it's actually a portion of the empire state, but I guess you found a reason for people to be jumping. :P Thanks for playing.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Hardcore XD it's a nice idea, cool!

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Even if the graphics are really simple, seeing people dying because they couldn't wait any longer made me laugh a lot.
Good job.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:09pm

This was allot harder than it probably had to be, as the people fell from high above the elevator long before I could get them. If they waited longer it would feel more balanced.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:05pm

So... if they wait too long for the elevator, they commit suicide? That seems like overreaction.

Controls were off, felt like inputs were being queued, sometimes elevator could change direction between floor, sometimes not.

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:23pm

it's like "goat simulator" to me: unbelievabally uneccessary, impossible to win, but fun as hell. The people falling onto the elevator wouldnt stop, and i was far under 0 with my points. But a good laugh :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]