Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrowMochi

by Maixior - Compo Entry

This game was made for the 34th Ludum Dare Compo.

Take care of creature and watch how it grows! :D

Use only two keys Z and X.

By,
Kamil 'Maixior' Adamczak

Made in GameMaker
(source ony for GameMaker!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#233Graphics3.60
#246Mood3.33
#263Overall3.52
#282Theme3.96
#298Humor2.77
#586Fun3.00
#598Innovation2.96

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Good game, congrat

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

@gene-z Thanks :D

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Very nice! Love the lcd-style graphics.

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:14pm

@kiiro94 THX man!

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Graphics are really cool. Just not sure how to make the thing happy :(

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

@AranHase
Just play with him and give him something to eat in some time he will be happy ;)

vipper says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Great!

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Reminds me my old tamagotchi, these times!

Congrats for the game, it's a good concept make that in a computer with the little "lcd" screen

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19am

Oh man. Painful memories of countless creatures that died in my tamagochi device. Oh the horror.
5 stars for mood.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Pretty neat! nice work with the graphics.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:52am

Very impressive homage to Tamagotchi's, the graphics are a really good nod to that style, the gameplay's simple but fun, and whilst not amazingly innovative it's still a really damn good entry in this LD. Great work!

Maixior says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Thanks for nice comments ^_^

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Cute, simple, little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]