Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Blue & Red

by zaniarm - Jam Entry

Two button game made with Unity 5. Sort boxes according to its color or text(Depends on game mode).



Controls:

Move the box with left arrow and right arrow keys.


Objective:

In easy mode move the box to correct side depending on its color.

In hard mode move the box to correct side depending on its text. text color and box color does not matter in this mode, only the text.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#637Audio(Jam)2.63
#770Mood(Jam)2.88
#780Humor(Jam)2.09
#914Graphics(Jam)2.48

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Timer goes down a little to fast in my oppinion, but maybe it's because I'm bad.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Nice simple idea, but kinda hurts the brain :)

Djimpey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:17pm

A fun game, but very hard and frustrating and still kind of adictive. :P

Gornova says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:38pm

very clever, I'm my worst enemy, well done!

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very clever idea for the Two Button Controls theme. I enjoyed it. It is tricky even on the easier mode! :D

On my first go I thought you had to play during the 3, 2, 1 countdown. I didn't realise that was a 'Get Ready' counter. Whoops.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Fun and simple. Good job

Duobix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I wasn't sure what to do at first, but I got it after a while that I should move to proper color. An arrow in both directions would make this pretty more understandable. This game would be a nice gimmick on phones! :D

dmecke says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I also had some issues to understand the difference between the numbers and the actual countdown.
Actually a very nice idea for the two button theme. Could be nicely ported to mobile devices by using swipe gestures.

Something like levels with different colors would also be nice!

dodormeur says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice and good idea, but a bit short.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Nice and short game!

Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Very coll idea... Kinda fast

victorfisac says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Very cool and funny to challenge friends!

RoseOwnage says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:20pm

For some reason the Web isn't working...

matiz982 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Looks funny. Cool design :)

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Simple, but so much fun!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:50pm

nice, very entertaining and challenging

greenscreen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Clicking noise is very satisfying :D

zguba says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very simple and nicly done. Pretty to competition with friends :D

Ovidios says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Simple idea but very well executed. I suck at this kind of games but I couldn't get higher than 12... ^^

Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Fun game! really hard on hard mode but i guess thats the point xD

George says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Actually really like it! The simplicity tricks you, I like the style and use of the theme - could easily be made into a mobile game!

Atmog says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Simple idea but really hard game !

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I love the Hard mode! This could be a really great mobile game. Hope you also export it for android etc.

icereci says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Fun game, enjoyed it. In hard mode, I locked my eyes for "B" and "R", helped alot :)

Kapura says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Pretty fun for such a simple idea, although it took me a few failures to figure out what was happening in the game. My biggest complaint is that the sound was really abrasive.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Simple, fun but you hate yourself when you make the wrong choice xD

Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:02pm

This is an example for games can be simple to be fun at all. Very nice! ^_^

printhello says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Very frustrating, haha :) Good game.

mat1er says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Easy to understand, but still fun. Good.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:08pm

I doubt you used the correct tool to create this kind of game. It is not bad but could be a bit... bigger. Like, some additional modes or I don't know.

Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:36pm

This is grate idea. I love it ;). I came back for more after while. I could not get more then 20 on easy XD.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Very cool game. You should call the modes hard and almost impossible. It is very fun, and a good time waster. :)

Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:57pm

48 ON HARD!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Simple idea buy very fun

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

‚ÄčA real confusing challenge for your brain. Especially tricky on hard mode. A simple, fast paced game concept that works well. :D

dodormeur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I like it, but the

dodormeur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:04pm

I like it, but the audio was a bit harsh to the ears.

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Cool little minigame. Bet it would be fun challenging friends for high scores!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

It's so simple, it would work well as a mobile game honestly.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59am

Nice tricky game. It's really interesting. The countdown is a bit too long. And maybe it would be better to give, say, 3-lives instead of resetting every time you lose?

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01am

I can't believe how much I failed at this game! Very surprised that this works quite well as a concept!

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01am

Challenging. I got 19 on hard.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03am

It took me a little time to figure out what was going on (I probably should have read the description ^^) but after that I had a lot of fun, it was very challenging and I like it! (hard mode is really cool, it broke my brain)

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11am

Quite challenging, though i like a good challenge :) was fun, good work

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

Simple idea, simple game, not simple to get a high score. Nice game. Could have some potential on mobile platforms.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24am

Great Job on your first Ludum Dare!

Mikaza says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02am

Nice game ! Simple but very funny

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice idea. I could see this being one of those random mobile games that happen to take off if it used swipe controls.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38am

No doubt this will be big on mobile. People love this type of game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

left, right right right left left omg my brain!
Fun game on both modes but the meat of the game is really in the hard mode. Needs some fast-tempo music to go along with it :)

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Easy and awsome game!

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:45am

Pretty good game! Shows how a simple idea can still be fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]