Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing an idea

by Cluster Parable - Compo Entry

--MISSING DLL ERROR: Link on the itch.io webpage to it. Place it on the folder
after installation--
--RTP ERROR: Link on the itch.io to it. Install it too, it's a system created by RPG Maker that allows you to decompress the file or something like that... I ain't any programmer so the description is here (http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/download/additional/run-time-packages)
--ALT+ENTER TO FULL SCREEN--

Growing an idea is my first game. I designed it and created all the art. I'm not a programmer neither a screenwriter neither a graphic designer. I'm just a man that enjoys playing the piano so I think music is the best part.
The source code, artwork and music is located on the folder where you install it.

This is a game that tells the story about an artist that found one day the inspiration and how he managed it. You are the inspiration itself and you two will experiment and discover wich type of art you are. Were you born for that, can you change what you are, or worse, are you even alive?* Don't ask me, I'm just a videogame creator! But ask yourself. Enjoy!

*some or all this questions may not be included on the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#336Audio2.96
#465Humor2.39
#475Mood2.96
#648Innovation2.86
#804Graphics2.41
#853Fun2.50
#883Overall2.66
#910Theme2.76

Comments

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

I get the error 'RGSS102J.dll can not be found'.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

I found same errors on other RPG Maker games on the net and I uploaded the missing dll to the itch.io webpage. I hope now it's playable. Sorry for the incovenience

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41am

After I start the LD34.exe, I get a dialog with japanese text all over it. Sorry, but I won't touch that!

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49am

RGSS102J.dll can't be found

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52am

Sorry about that, it's asking where do you want to locate the folders of the game. I don't know why is in japanase and I don't know how to change it, but I have some rates so don't worry about virus or malware.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03am

I put the DLL into the extracted game folder and at startup I get:
https://gyazo.com/618263336fb756814d49101155303d26

MAnimal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34am

I have the same problem :/

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39am

Doesn't work for me :/

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36am

I put the dll in the directory, and now, it says "RGSS-RTP standard not found.". Can't play.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Sorry again, my first time uploading a game :(
The RTP is a system that makes the game size smaller (or something like that). I uploaded on my itch.io webpage. The file comes from the RPG Maker Official webpage (http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/download/additional/run-time-packages)

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Rpg maker games arealways a bit wierd for me to play, but I actually liked this one. Not a fan of the graphics though but good job...

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

We users of RPG Maker have few posibilities to create games other than RPG (I got to learn to program)so we usually end doing some sort of crappy games like this hehehe but thanks for the comment :)
About the graphics I have to say that I didn't have that image of them in my mind but I had to use the black filter due to some problems with contrast.

euske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49am

I think I reached the end. This was an odd game to me. There was probably some message in it, but it wasn't clear. I liked the music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

The game shuts down when it ends (if I didn't do anything wrong while programming). The message wasn't clear even for me, the developing was a bit weird. Thanks! I hope the music is good, I did my best!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:27am

This game was pretty weird but interesting too. Really abstract. I liked the music, except for the latin track which didn't loop well =O good job!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41am

Unable to start the game. ):

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47am

I went throuh the trouble of downloading all the additional software and it was quite worth it! Your idea is very clever and I love the graphics. I finished it and had a great time. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Thanks Krafty and rzuf! I'm glad to see that someone's actually enjoying my creation :D
I rushed a bit creating the music part, I wanted to work more on it but I didn't have enough time so that's why it's a littl' crappy.
Graphics were made rushing too but it went better.
To Dreyan: there's two current issues happening to those who don't have RPG Maker installed. You have to download the dll file wich I uploaded to my itch.io page and move it into the installation folder. Then, if it asks for the RTP you've got to install it too. Sorry for all the trouble, it's my first time uploading!

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:47pm

quite a trip.. a little bit of everything, some crazy music along the way, and some feeling in the ending. not bad not bad :3

cubicme says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12am

loved it, I hope you keep playing with you're ideas in video games.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:47am

nice game

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Artistic, more often than not, non-figurative, sometimes even rude, that is the form of truth as far as I'm concerned. Truth is the heart of art itself.

As such, this game as a piece of art - considering the amount of development time - really nailed a couple of things.

Not sure if the art style is intentional or just rushed, but it surely fits the game!

It was a fun experience and I really love your way of thinking!

As a slightly more experienced developer, I can help you if you need some basic ideas in regards of releasing the game.

As for example, RTP can be turned off - or even put into the game folder if you used parts of it - and considering the kit you used to develop, it would be probably better to release the game as a zip package instead of an RPG Maker package.

As for a first entry, I love it, I totally love it, your art style made this game really worth my time!

Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]