Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Run Cube, run!

by zguba - Compo Entry

So... yea, here I am. I did it. I made game named "Run Cube, run!", that is about a John Cube. He is keep running foward, jumping, collecting coins and shooting. All this with isometric camera. I don't really know what else can I say about this game. It's really simple. One I can tell you in trust is that there is one easter egg!

Have fun and thanks for your time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#448Humor2.43
#536Fun3.08
#702Theme3.42
#719Mood2.59
#776Overall2.88
#880Innovation2.31

Comments

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Really love the isometric art style and character design!

The game starts off a bit slow but after a while it feels really good to play. Would be nice if you also controlled the menus using on z and x as well :P

tedling says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I like it :) The graphics are obviously very prototype-like, but they actually work pretty well in the game.

The explosions on death look a lot like fireworks, that is awesome :D

wavegunner232 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

not innovative. Its fun but the control's are not responsive enough

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

It's s pretty simple premise but I like that you changed the perspective - gives it a little oomph.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Good mood, i like the simple graphics which goes well with the gameplay, i like the little animation on cube jump :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Pretty neat game.

Yazara says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Fun game, but the color choices seem weird to me, as well as the key mappings. On a german keyboard, Z and X aren't next to each other :P

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:42pm

PLEASE never use x and z because on my german keyboard its 10cm distance and that completely sucks. But otherwise nice game, have a "guten rutsch"! :)

Phil Strahl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Enjoyed the isometric artstyle, however here are some suggestions for improvements (entirely subjective, of course):
* Don't use Z and X, those keys are not next to each other on a German keyboard layout. A/S, Q/W, ↑/↓, 1/2, would be good alternatives
* the jumping feels sluggish. Maybe increase the upwards part of the jump drastically in speed and/or magnitude
* It was impossible to tell whether I'd reach a coin or not. Maybe have them project their shadows onto the rail, so players would know where they are located?
* I constantly spammed the lane with projectiles and never saw an obstacle or enemy. Maybe limit the player-gun even more, e.g. by a cool-down, having the player also collect "ammo-packs" for it, and/or the possibility to also shoot precious coins.
* Ramp up the difficulty, e.g. by slowly increasing the speed of the game, increasing the number of enemies/gaps or introducing multi-level platforms. I'm sure you can come up with something.
Still it was fun! All the best :)

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Cool game. I like the isometric style. Simple but fun!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Can't play windows games...

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Rather simple, but it works! Could have used at least some audio tho - when in doubt, use SFXR!

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Okay. It's a nice game, neat graphics, it fits the theme. But there is no sound at all (or did i miss ome settings?) and it gets boring really fast (for me). But solid work, the programming is flawless

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Why not :) Nicely generated levels!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Nice entry and good job on the implementation of the theme.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]