Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beep Beep

by FairyBlossom03 - Jam Entry

*Commence dramatic movie trailer presenter voice*
In a world where you're being shot at by a tank in a tiny room, you randomly drive around following a white arrow and chasing a moving gas tank. For some reason, your car only has two controls, one labeled Z which goes forward and another labeled X which goes backwards. After some running around you realize that after picking up a certain amount of gas tanks your car grows...
You have given yourself two objectives:
1- Get rid of the tank.
2- Get back to what you were doing.

-------

Hey, hi, hello! So, this is my first ever Ludum Dare! I hope you find this at least playable... (And, sorry for the useless pics, I can't screen cap.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#723Humor(Jam)2.25
#860Theme(Jam)3.18
#879Innovation(Jam)2.55
#912Mood(Jam)2.52
#948Overall(Jam)2.77
#1019Graphics(Jam)1.73
#2373Coolness10%

Comments

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

great little game, once i got the hang of the controls it became pretty addictive!

iszlonn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nice game, I really like the controls, although I see no point on the "reverse". Great idea, nevertheless!! keep it up!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

illraceyou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

They can't all be winners. Keep it up though! It's my first game jam too.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

Pretty slick little game, enjoyed that there was an ending. Didn't use reverse at all as the mouse control was nice and fluid. Hope you had fun with your first Ludum Dare!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35am

Definitly playable :) It's a really simple and hectic game.

grifdail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

Funny, I liked the controll !

Scandark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

took some time to handle the controls but fun game

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Haha interesting game. A little difficult to control at the start but It's funny. Good job!

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Hey, congrats on finishing your first LD! :) You implemented the themes well and it's kinda fun to run around with the car, however I found the game to be too easy once I mastered the controls. Also, some nice background and sound effects would've greatly improved the experience. But it's perfectly fine as a first game.

Louspirit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

The controls are really smooth! I didnt know what I grabbing but it wasn't important to enjoy the game. This thing was smart and knew where to hide haha!

intchanter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21am

I like that you went for a combination of the themes, but I didn't figure out why I would ever want to use the reverse button or let up on the forward button.

kabel says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:10pm

The graphics are not that good, I couldn't even make out what was what. The difficulty curve is alright and the gameplay is ok.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]