Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FloppySnake

by zguerrero - Compo Entry

My first entry for the Ludum Dare!
It is a mix between flappy bird and a snake game.
Sorry i didn't had time to make sound.
Eat the white things to grow your tail, and avoid the red things they're bad!
Just use the left click to jump, and the right click to lauch a bomb, but be careful, the bomb while burn five of your tail elements, so use it with caution!

I Added a post ludum version! You can still play the original version for voting, but if you like the game i recommend you the post ludum upgrade, it is far better!

Here are the modifications :
- Enlarged the hit boxes of the collectable objects (many many peolpe found they where to small, after more testing, i totally agree with them!)
- Added bonus bombs, you get some when you do not get hit for some time.
- Corrected a bug where objects were never destroyed after going out of the screen.
- Added some text to the interface.
- Changed the colors of the grass, to make understand that it is not hostile.
- Upgraded the shader of the enemys.
- Added some lens flare.
- Added a Shake Camera Effect
- Added some sounds.
- Added music that evolve with the lenght of the player's tail.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Graphics4.07
#571Mood2.83
#591Theme3.59
#670Overall3.02
#717Fun2.81
#889Innovation2.25

Comments

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Great looking game, and fun to play as well! My only issue was it felt the hit boxes were pretty small on the pick ups.

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

The hitboxes are a bit small on those pick-ups. The game is a bit slow, and I think it would be better if the movement was faster.

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Good game and looks amazing! as the other review said, though, the collision for pickups could be a little more generous.

gmisail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Hitboxes were a bit small, however overall fun.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I like how this whole game has a bit of a wobble to it like it is underwater. And the smoke like mist behind it. Very nice.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Nile. Visuals are great. Is there end of the game?

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58pm

thanks for the feedbacks every one! Many peoples said me the same things about the hitboxes, i didn't realized that when testing the game... i will work on that later

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

No, no end, just try to have the longest tail!

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

The game looks great, love the glow effects!

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

The graphics were gorgeous, and the game was pretty fun! Controls were good, only remark I have is that indeed the hitboxes for the pickups are a bit small. But that also makes it challenging :)

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Nice little game :)

The graphics are really well done, and doesn't feel like a rushed game. I just not sure about the hitbox size of the white thing we control. Maybe it should be larger for the friendly units only? :)

Anyways, good job...

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I like it! Pretty simple game, with very pretty graphics, especially with the mini-explosions when you pick up a white cell.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

very interesting visuals! the hitboxes were a bit small, and there's not too much gameplay. but that's not necessarily a bad thing! simple and effective

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Gorgeous game! Everything worked well. The game is quite simple though. And no sound effects. But it looks so good!

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Really love the art, especially the background flames! Actually more fun than flappy bird. The hitboxes of the powerups seem a bit small, but luckily, the hitboxes of the enemies are small too ;)

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Interesting take on it. I did something similar. There is no end/fail state?

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

great art design, really loved it and am still curious what kinda sound you would have done. Liked also the idea of smart bombs. Nice little time-waster :)

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I gotta start this by stating that this is one of the best looking snake/infinite runner clones out there. Commercial versions included. It really is good looking, congratulations! The game is really simple to play and pickup, but I have to +1 the first comment: the hit box for the pick ups is very small, compared to the obstacles. It's much easier to scratch an obstacle, but we only get a pickup if we go right through it, which is a bit disappointing. Please add music and sound to a postcompo version, this would really enhance your game.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I am glad you didnt make this too hard because its quite mesmeric and peaceful :). The graphics are great I love the waviness of the er....worms top and bottom and the light worm flows excellently. Found it frustratingly touching the light orbs but not collecting them conversely that made the spikes hard to hit so not so. Also though it was clever that you dont die as such just go back to zero. Much more satisfying. Nice one!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

+ Fun gameplay.
+ Nice graphics.

- Collectable colliders were too small.

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Ohh wow!! the environment feels so organic... Nice work!!
I agree with people though... hitboxes are way too small... felt kind of cheated! :P

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15pm

The global design of the game is very good, the game is not very innovating but fun. The hitbox of pick ups were too small.

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31pm

The game looks great. Good Job . it's a little bit hard to get the collectable though.
Nice Job :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Nice compo. I wish the game could be more difficult as you progress because the bomb is not really usefull at the moment. Playing this game is kind of relaxing. Good job ;)

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:34am

Nice visuals, sadly flappy bird games are meh. No lose or win condition make playing feel kind of pointless. Controlls are good

emmes says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:53am

Awesome graphics, somehow I'm really bad in picking up things, and I don't understand the difference between the differently sized blobs.
Also i think the game would greatly benefit from some sound

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Sweet looking game! (i.e. this wispy smoke behind the snake!).
The beauty of abstraction.. I imagined that I am floating through the blood vessels - fighting viruses, bacteria or something... ;)

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:48am

Great graphics, but lacks some gameplay features.

Strike says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Basic gameplay but solid enough. Very good graphics. Maybe it would be more challenging if the difficulty increased with time.

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very impressive graphical effects! I like it a lot.
It would have been nice with some kind of end game condition.

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:48pm

great feel of depth in a 2d game. Awesome graphics overall, but the red things dont fit the style... Good job!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Cool entry, hit boxes on the pick ups felt tiny though, liked the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]