Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pig Game

by knason - Compo Entry

Keep the pigs from growing out of control.

CONTROLS: up/down arrow to move, space to shoot.

My second game ever. :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#117Humor3.39
#509Audio2.58
#590Graphics2.90
#768Fun2.70
#773Mood2.45
#831Innovation2.49
#926Theme2.60
#929Overall2.49

Comments

Tommislav says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34am

A very difficult game! A visual indicator of some sort might have helped a little. However the sound effects when you finally hit a pig is so satisfying that you feel that it was worth it =)

Also, on rare occations the pigs will fly to the sky, but I reccon this is a feature (if not then it should)

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I like the pig art! A simple score would help a lot. Something like how many pigs can you hit in 90 seconds. Maybe have a visual indication of the shot angle? Either rotate the cannon or put a gauge on the side of it.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

I laughed the first time I got a pig. wasn't sure how they were getting out of the pen. A score would have helped. Good concept.

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I don't know what to say..! Poor piggies! Good job on completing your second game!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Nooo, I don't want to kill the piggies :( You made them too likable and the scream when they die is just horrific.

I'm playing for the pigs to win!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

It's a great go for your first game. :D The pigs are really cute. I love the slow trajectory of the bullets, very funny. XD

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Well done for the second game ever, especially when done with a limited time. What I missed the most was an indicator of how much power my next shot will have.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I had a smile on my face the entire time while trying this game. 15-20 minutes passed and while I was still having fun, I wasn't sure what my goal was? Am I to destroy all the piggies? Also, just as a previous review said, a "power meter" on the tank/catapult/shooting thing would have been really helpful. I littered the front of the fence with my shots. =p

Seriously love the aesthetics of this. So simple and still communicative.

Well done on your 2nd game ever!

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I literally (and I mean in true meaning of this word) broke out laughing when I hit a pig for the first time and heared this scream. I love how from time to time one of the pig just jumps to the sky. Cute entry, congrats.

oal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I like the art style, and the scream is hilarious. A kill counter and shooting indicator would have been a nice addition, but this is a two day compo after all. Good job!

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Graphics are pretty nice, but it needs an indicator for where the shot is going to go.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I feel like that scream is from the internet, if you didn't do it, you should really give them credit!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Nice job for your second ever game! I'm pretty sure though, you didn't make those pig dying sounds (i've heard it in like 20 movies). It's not a big deal, but i'm pretty sure using pre-made sound effects is against the rules. other than that, nice job on the physics and 3d graphics. Although I wish there was a score or some way to win or lose.

knason says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29pm

it is the famous wilhelm scream, I expected that almost everyone would recognise it and think of it as funny thats why I kept it. thanks for all the nice comments. I'm quite proud, I had two sick kids at home needed my attention so the total time I had was 6 hours :-)

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This game could be quite fun with more feedback. I'd like to see an indicator of my position and a power meter. I'd also hope to see scoring implemented in the future. For your second game, this is quite a great start! Keep it up :)

UncleChris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I really like the game - very fun to play. I did have an issue, that my gun only seemed to reach two or three units in front of it, and when a Jumping pig landed on my shot my gun into space! :)
Great sounds - and it has some fun potential. Keep up the awesome work.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Lovely pigs.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:41pm

It needs some better defined goal, IMHO - some score (points per pig or even how long you can keep the total number of pigs under some value), or a level mechanism.

I like the graphics.

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Hahah pretty basic but this cracked me up. If I could add one thing it would be some indicator of the charge-up of the shot.

Nice job making something in 3D solo/compo! Most folks start with 2D so that was an interesting aspect. Keep at it.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Piggies are too cute, I don't want to kill them :D

For a 6 hours entry, it's a nice one. All have been written about a charge indicator in previous comments.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I like the pigs. Good for a second game.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:21am

Good integration of Unity's physics engine for the shooting mechanic. I love the Wilhelm scream!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

I liked the graphics! A good example of simple shapes used well.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:36am

Do I know what i'm doing? no. Am I enjoying it? Hell yes.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Silly but funny little game. Only thing to improve would be to add a highscore or something! :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:42pm

funny game with the cutest pigs)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]